Unbroken: Frosty's remarkable Symmons Plains run

04 Apr 2021
Winterbottom is on an enviable run at the circuit

While he has only taken one race win at Symmons Plains, Mark Winterbottom is on an enviable run at the circuit.

The Tasmanian venue, which will host the next round of the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship, has been a consistent hunting ground of sorts for Winterbottom, who is searching for his first Team 18 podium.

Remarkably, Winterbottom has finished all 40 championship races he has started at the venue.

He has also finished in the top 10 a whopping 30 times at the circuit; a brilliant marker despite the 2015 champion having claimed just the one win at the track.

Only three active drivers have taken pole at the circuit; Whincup (seven), Winterbottom (six) and van Gisbergen (two).

Winterbottom celebrates his 2019 pole with Charlie Schwerkolt

The 2019 event marked a critical milestone for Winterbottom, who clinched a pole in just his third event as a Team 18 driver.

The next best, with regards to race finished at Symmons Plains, is Fabian Coulthard, who has completed all 28 races he has started at the Launceston circuit.

Coulthard has an affinity with Symmons Plains; there, he clinched his maiden podium in 2009, his first points-paying win in 2013, and took the first DJR Team Penske win in 2017.

Chaz Mostert went into the 2018 Tasmanian event having finished all 10 races he had started, but a fire in pit lane resulted in a DNF, putting paid to his good record.


Jamie Whincup won that 2018 race, which was the most recent of his record 12 wins at Symmons Plains.


Tasmania flashback: The chaotic race that had it all

He recorded DNFs in his first two visits to the circuit in 2005 and 2006, with the latter visit featured by a car-crunching accident which heavily damaged Triple Eight’s Bathurst-winning Falcon.

Five drivers have started more than 30 races at Symmons Plains; Winterbottom, Whincup (35), James Courtney (33), Will Davison (33) and Shane van Gisbergen (31).

Courtney is the only driver of the five to have never won a race at the circuit, but has finished second once and third five times.

Davison won in 2012 and in 2016, the latter coming aboard a Tekno Commodore after van Gisbergen fell victim to a late oil spill.

However, a year later, Davison suffered a back injury in the terrifying multi-car pile-up in wet conditions.

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to Symmons Plains for the Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint across April 17-18. Tickets are on sale now.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo.

Related News