Percat wins tense finale, Brown clinches Perkins Trophy

24 Mar
Nick Percat has broken through in an absorbing Melbourne finale, with Will Brown clinching the Larry Perkins Trophy
  • Nick Percat denies Triple Eight with stunning Melbourne win

  • MSR recruit takes first Supercars win since Sydney 2020

  • Will Brown races from ninth to second to clinch Larry Perkins Trophy

Nick Percat has broken through for Matt Stone Racing in an absorbing Melbourne finale, with Will Brown clinching the Larry Perkins Trophy.

Percat (#10 Bendix Chevrolet) benefited from an early clash between Chaz Mostert (#25 Mobil 1 Optus Ford) and Matt Payne (#19 Penrite Ford) to win his first race since Sydney 2020, with MSR claiming just its second Supercars win.

Brown raced from ninth to second to win the Perkins Trophy ahead of Red Bull Ampol Racing teammate Broc Feeney, who came home third.

Heading to the next round in New Zealand, Brown leads Feeney by 17 points, with Mostert demoted from fourth to fifth after copping a five-second penalty over the Payne incident.

Mostert dropped behind Thomas Randle (#55 Castrol Ford), who claimed fastest lap bonus points. Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Ford) and Cam Waters (#6 Monster Energy Ford) came home sixth and seventh.

Payne would later be sent into a spin at Turn 1 by Bryce Fullwood (#14 Middy's Electrical Chevrolet), who copped a five-second penalty and was classified 20th.

The end margin between Percat and Brown was just 0.3810s, with Feeney 0.9944s from his third victory of the weekend.


Percat also ran out of fuel on the cool down lap, and was pushed back to the pit lane by Tim Slade (#23 PremiAir Nulon Chevrolet), who came home 10th.

"Unbelievable. I'm kind of speechless. I can't thank Matt, the whole team enough," said an emotional Percat, who departed Walkinshaw Andretti United in the off-season.

"I wanted to quit, and now Round 2, we've won a race. It's seriously amazing.

"Last 18 months, hated every second of that mob. So, honestly, the moment I walked into MSR, I knew this is where I needed to be."

percat stone agp 2024 win

Cameron Hill (#4 Tyrepower Chevrolet) was sent into the Turn 7 gravel by Mostert's teammate, Ryan Wood, who copped a 30-second penalty and was classified 21st.

Jack Le Brocq (#9 TFH Hire Chevrolet) also pulled into pit lane at the end of the first lap, and also retired from the race.

Percat, who took the lead after the Payne/Mostert clash at Turn 9, was forced to defend from Feeney, before Brown got past his teammate through Turn 4.

The three Camaros raced away despite Mostert's efforts, with Percat ending Triple Eight's unbeaten streak in 2024 to claim his fifth career win.

The 2024 Repco Supercars Championship returns to New Zealand on April 19-21 for the ITM Taupō Super400.

Fans planning on attending the event are being encouraged to lock in ticketing options.

Related News