Supercars inks new Perth deal

29 May 2023
Supercars to race in Perth on new contract
3 mins by James Pavey

Supercars has struck a new deal with Tourism WA to continue racing in Perth until at least the end of 2025.

The deal with the WA Government, delivered through Tourism WA, Supercars and the WA Sporting Car Club, will mean that Supercars can continue to race at the historic Wanneroo circuit in the Perth SuperSprint for a minimum of two more Championship events.

Tourism Minister Roger Cook, who visited the circuit on the eve of this year’s event, said: “For more than 50 years the Supercars Championship has been coming to Perth to thrill fans at the Wanneroo raceway with the best in touring cars, and we’re delighted to lock in this event for another two years.

“Motorsport enjoys an enthusiastic and passionate following in our state and it’s great that this event will continue to inspire growth in the sport at all levels – from grassroot participants to professional teams.

“Hosting national drawcard events, like the Perth SuperSprint as part of the wider Supercars Championship, helps attract visitors from out of state, boost our tourism and hospitality industries, and stimulate local economies.”

Supercars CEO Shane Howard said the new agreement reaffirms Supercars' commitment to its national footprint and marks an important milestone in the sport's ongoing growth.

"We are thrilled to have struck this new deal with the WA Government, delivered through Tourism WA and the WA Sporting Car Club to race in Perth until at least the end of 2025.

“This partnership demonstrates the strong commitment of all parties involved to grow the sport in Western Australia.


“It helps us to encourage young West Australian drivers to follow their careers to the top of Australian Motorsport, like current Championship leader Brodie Kostecki and current Bathurst Champion Garth Tander.

“The Wanneroo circuit is steeped in history and is a favourite among fans and drivers alike, so we're delighted to be able to continue racing there."

The Wanneroo circuit has been a mainstay of Supercars racing under various names since 1973, and has been supported by the WA Government, through Tourism WA, since 2011.

The popular three-day event also provides welcome support for local businesses, with the over 34,000 attendees at this year’s event – 12,000 more than last year’s attendance – estimated to have injected millions of dollars into the local economy.

Supercars/ATCC has raced at the circuit 95 times, with 30 of the biggest names in the sport claiming victory there including Allan Moffat, Peter Brock, Craig Lowndes, Mark Skaife and Jamie Whincup through to the newest winner on the Perth list, 20-year-old Broc Feeney who won the final race of the 2023 event recently, that was attended by 34,052 fans.

The history books will show that the first three race winners in the Gen3 era at the famous Wanneroo circuit were Shane van Gisbergen, Will Brown and Feeney.

The next event on the 2023 Repco Supercars Championship calendar is next month’s betr Darwin Triple Crown running 16-18 June.

Related News