Ojeda beats Payne, Fraser to Sydney Super2 pole

20 Nov 2021
It'll be an all-Altima front row for the Dunlop Series opener at SMSP
2 mins by James Pavey
Snatching Pole: Qualifying 7 Super2 Highlights - Beaurepaires Sydney SuperNight

Jayden Ojeda has scored his second career Dunlop Series pole at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The MW Motorsport driver, who is third in the Super2 standings, claimed his first pole since February's Bathurst season opener.

  • Click here for Qualifying results

The Sydneysider put a margin on the field, with Super2 debutant Matt Payne an impressive second in his first series qualifying session.

Declan Fraser qualified third for the race, with Nissan Altima drivers filling positions one through three.

Ojeda dropped in a 1:29.970s to lower the practice/qualifying record of a 1:31.423s set by Garry Jacobson in 2017.

The top 12 runners all went quicker than Jacobson's 2017 flyer, with points leader Broc Feeney fourth ahead of Tyler Everingham and Jordan Boys.

Tickford Racing driver Zak Best could only qualify eighth, with the Victorian 0.828s off the pace.

Overcast conditions greeted drivers at Eastern Creek, with the session officially declared wet.

However, rain didn't affect the Super3 or Super2 parts of the session.


Only five Super2 drivers set a lap time on the first runs, with rookie Payne fastest on a 1:31.078s from Aaron Seton.

Boys lowered the marker to a 1:30.796s, before Feeney went quicker on a 1:30.4190s.

After Fraser clocked a 1:30.359s, Payne went quicker again on a 1:30.200s.

However, Ojeda denied Kiwi teen Payne a first-up pole position with his 1:29.970s.

'Chuck it all on the line': Ojeda on his one lap wonder

Tim Blanchard, Seton and Angelo Mouzouris rounded out the top 10.

Returning 2007 series winner Tony D’Alberto was 12th, with Matt McLean 14th.

Nash Morris scored a fourth straight Super3 class pole with a 1:32.214s ahead of Reef McCarthy and Blake Fardell.

The first 18-lap race will commence at 6:00pm AEDT. Click here to view the race schedule.

Every session of the event will be broadcast live on Foxtel (Fox Sports 506) and streamed on Kayo.

The Seven Network will provide live free to air coverage of the event. Tickets for the event are on sale now.

Related News