PremiAir Nulon Racing announces shock Russell coup

11 Apr
Just months after extending with Erebus Motorsport, veteran co-driver David Russell will shift to PremiAir Nulon Racing for the 2024 enduros
3 mins by James Pavey
  • PremiAir Nulon Racing announces David Russell for 2024 enduros

  • Russell partnered with James Golding for Sandown, Bathurst

  • Veteran previously announced alongside Brodie Kostecki, Erebus

In a major co-driver coup, PremiAir Nulon Racing has announced David Russell has joined the Peter Xiberras-owned team for the 2024 enduros.

Russell, who raced with Brodie Kostecki and Erebus Motorsport between 2021 and 2023, will line up alongside James Golding in the #31 PremiAir Nulon Chevrolet.

The Golding/Russell combination now looms as a dark horse at this year's longest races, the Penrite Oil Sandown 500 and Repco Bathurst 1000.

Russell and Kostecki were one of the form pairings in the enduros, finishing third in the 2021 Great Race before racing to second last year's Sandown 500 and Bathurst 1000.

Just days after Kostecki's return to Erebus was confirmed, with the 2023 series champion sitting out the opening two rounds, Russell has been announced at a rival team.

Just week's after last year's Bathurst 1000, Erebus confirmed Russell would return with the team in 2024, with Russell saying he and Kostecki have "unfinished business."

russell kostecki bathurst 2023

On Friday, PremiAir Nulon Racing confirmed it had come to an agreement with Russell "a number of weeks ago."

The announcement ensures Erebus has at least one vacancy to fill, with Todd Hazelwood locked in for the enduros.

"I am thrilled to finally announce that I am joining PremiAir Nulon Racing,” 42-year-old Russell said in a PremiAir Nulon Racing release.

“Jimmy's performance at Bathurst earlier this year was outstanding, and I am eager to partner up for some fantastic outcomes in the endurance races this September and October."

Golding said: "I am looking forward to driving alongside Dave. He has a lot of experience that will add great value to our team.


"I haven't worked or driven with him previously, so I am interested to see how he goes about it. Everyone is different because of the experiences they have had, so there is always something to learn from one another."

russell kostecki podium sandown celebrations

Of 24 full-time entries, 13 co-drivers have been announced, with Golding/Russell combination the 10th pairing to be locked in.

PremiAir Nulon Racing owner Xiberras was "very excited" to see what Russell and Golding can achieve this year, given Golding was the pace at the season-opening event at Mount Panorama.

“We are very pleased to finally be able to announce that David is joining our team for our 2024 endurance campaign,” Xiberras said.

“He has won at Bathurst in basically everything except a Supercar, where he has come oh-so-close with a second place at the 2023 event alongside 2023 champion Brodie Kostecki.

“There is no doubt he is highly experienced when it comes to the Mountain and to Supercars, and we are very excited to see what he and Jimmy can do in the #31 this year.”

The Penrite Oil Sandown 500 will open the 2024 enduro season on September 13-15, before the Repco Bathurst 1000 on October 10-13.

2024 enduro line-ups: What we know so far (as of April 11, 2024)

Main driver




Todd Hazelwood


Broc Feeney

Jamie Whincup

Triple Eight

Will Brown

Scott Pye

Triple Eight

Andre Heimgartner

Declan Fraser


Bryce Fullwood

Jaylyn Robotham


Macauley Jones

Jordan Boys


Anton De Pasquale

Tony D'Alberto


Will Davison

Kai Allen


Ryan Wood

Fabian Coulthard


Chaz Mostert

Lee Holdsworth



Garth Tander



Michael Caruso

Team 18

James Golding

David Russell

PremiAir Nulon

James Courtney

Jack Perkins


Craig Lowndes

Cooper Murray

Triple Eight (wildcard)

Related News