BJR dominates PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge finals

05 Oct
BJR wins fifth consecutive Pit Stop Challenge after locking out final for first time since 2019
2 mins by James Pavey
  • BJR wins PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge after locking out final

  • BJR crews picked off Penrite Racing, Triple Eight in both semis

  • Albury team has now won five consecutive Pit Stop Challenges

Brad Jones Racing has claimed victory in the PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge at Mount Panorama after a final lockout for the team.

BJR won its fifth consecutive Pit Stop Challenge and, for the first time, locked out the final for the first time since 2019.

The team’s first crew progressed to the final after a slow stop delayed Penrite Racing’s efforts, before the second BJR crew picked off Red Bull Ampol Racing in the second semi-final.

Last year, BJR beat Triple Eight in the final held on the Gold Coast. There was no need this year, with the final becoming a dead rubber as BJR won both semis.

BJR crews face off in PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge final

The crew on the Andre Heimgartner car is credited with the win, narrowly beating the crew on the Macauley Jones Camaro in the final.


"They're an awesome group of people, every year we live for this, it's great," Jones said.

"As you can see, it means a lot to us, and it's great to win it again. Everyone takes a lot of pride in what we do, they practice regularly, and they deliver when it counts.

"The guys deliver, and it's nice to know it's going home five years in a row, it should stay there, really!"

The semi results confirmed BJR as victors of the 2023 PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge, with team boss Brad Jones awarded the Golden Rattle Gun and $20,000 in prize money. It comes after BJR crews placed first and third in the regular season, winning a combined $7500. The R&J Batteries Racing & Middy's Racing crew took top spot and $5500, with the SCT Logistics & Pizza Hut Racing crew winning $2000.

Come Sunday, and BJR added $20,000 more to its kitty as it swept both semi-finals and the final.

Supercars will hit the track for the first time at Mount Panorama on Thursday for Practice 1 at 1:20pm AEDT.

Related News