What you need to know about the Clipsal 500

28 Feb 2017
How to watch and follow all the action from Adelaide

The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship for 2017 begins this week at Adelaide's Clipsal 500.

The former Formula 1 street circuit is renowned for being one of the best in the world.

Shortened from its Grand Prix length by 700 metres to 3.2-kilometres, the circuit is very busy from inside the cockpit and, apart from the run down the back straight, gives drivers very few opportunities to relax.

The circuit featured major resurfacing work for 2009 as well as new pit lane facilities.

The Clipsal 500 was first held in 1999, while the GP length circuit has also hosted an American Le Mans Series race in 2000.

What time is it on?

The action begins on Thursday morning local time, with the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship hitting the track for the first time at 9:40AM local time on Friday.

Saturday and Sunday’s races both begin at 3:20PM local and the 250-kilometre races are due to finish by 5:20PM.

Click here for the full track schedule.

How can I watch it?

FOX SPORTS will be broadcasting the event including support categories from Thursday morning on Fox Sports 5.

Channel 10 will also broadcast the races live across the weekend.

Check here and your local guides for times.

Where can I buy tickets?

Tickets can be purchased online here while there will be others available at the circuit through Ticketmaster.


How else can I follow it?

Supercars.com will provide all the latest news and updates throughout the weekend, while you can follow the weekend on social media with @supercars on Twitter, the hashtag #VASC or facebook.com/supercars.

Live timing will also be available on supercars.com throughout the weekend.

The numbers:

Length: 3.22km

Direction: Clockwise

Average Speed: 146km/h

Top Speed: 251km/h

Fast Fact: The winner of the Clipsal 500 has gone on to win the Supercars Championship six times. Craig Lowndes did it in1999, Mark Skaife in 2002, Marcos Ambrose in 2004 and Jamie Whincup in 2008, 2009 and 2011.

Qualifying Lap Record: Scott McLaughlin Garry Rogers Motorsport Volvo S60 1min19.6977 2016 Dunlop Hard Tyre

Race Lap Record: Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Race Engineering Holden Commodore VE II 1m21.0507s 2012 Dunlop Hard Tyre

Race wins by driver

Jamie Whincup 10Craig Lowndes 6Marcos Ambrose 5Mark Skaife 4Garth Tander 3James Courtney 3Jason Bright 1Todd Kelly 1Rick Kelly 1Will Davison 1Shane van Gisbergen 1Fabian Coulthard 1Nick Percat 1

Pole positions by driver

Jamie Whincup 7Garth Tander 3Shane van Gisbergen 3Craig Lowndes 2Greg Murphy 2Jason Bright 2Mark Skaife 2James Courtney 2Rick Kelly 1Will Davison 1Scott Pye 1Fabian Coulthard 1Chaz Mostert 1

Related News