Tickford confirms Super2 champion Fraser

13 Jan 2023
Former Triple Eight junior shifts to Ford team

Declan Fraser will make his full-time Supercars debut in 2023 with Tickford Racing, the team has confirmed.

Fraser had long been linked to the team after news broke of Jake Kostecki’s impending departure.

Kostecki’s exit was confirmed on Wednesday, creating a vacancy at the four-car team.

  • Tickford announces Jake Kostecki split

  • Kostecki responds to Tickford exit

  • Tickford committed to Best plans

That has since been filled by Fraser, who will drive the team’s TRADIE Ford in 2023.

TRADIE has also recommitted as naming rights backer of the #56 Mustang.

It completes a whirlwind 12 months for Fraser, who won the 2022 Super2 title with Triple Eight.

In an ironic twist, Fraser had to beat Tickford’s Super2 driver Zak Best to win the title.

Fraser took out the crown with four wins and four poles, and also made his Bathurst 1000 debut alongside Craig Lowndes, no less.

Lowndes and Fraser raced to eighth, which was the best result at Mount Panorama by a wildcard entry.

Despite winning the Super2 title, Fraser appeared set to miss out on a main game seat after opting out of the Matt Stone Racing drive vacated by Todd Hazelwood.

His Triple Eight Super2 teammate Cameron Hill since took the MSR seat, with the Super2 rivals now reuniting in the top flight.

Fraser will be the seventh Super2 champion on the 2023 Supercars grid, highlighting the recent strength of the development series.

He joins new teammates Cam Waters (2015) and Thomas Randle (2020), Bryce Fullwood (2019), Mark Winterbottom (2003), Broc Feeney (2021) and Hazelwood (2017).

"It’s a pretty special feeling," Fraser said.

Fraser celebrates his Super2 title

"At the end of the Super2 season we didn’t really know where we were heading for 2023, so to get the call from Tim and everyone was pretty exciting.


"Getting from Super2 to the main game is a really tough step to make, especially from a financial perspective.

"To have Tim and the team at Tickford Racing offer me this drive on performance is really special.

"It shows that Super2 is a great platform to prepare young drivers for the main game, and I’m really looking forward to the opportunity.

"It’s awesome to be representing TRADIE as well, I’ve actually done four years of apprenticeship and have my tradesman’s certificate as an electrician.

"It’s a funny coincidence, but really cool to partner up with such a fun brand in TRADIE, I can’t wait to get started."

Tim Edwards, Tickford CEO and Team Principal, said Fraser has all the ingredients needed to do a “fine job” for the team.

Fraser is one of seven Super2 champions on the grid

"It’s funny how things work,” Edwards said.

“We went into Adelaide trying to beat Declan in Super2, and here we are a few weeks later preparing him to suit up with us in the main game for 2023.

"This sport works in strange ways sometimes, but Declan has all the qualities you look for in a young driver.

“Se are excited to work with him and are confident he will do a fine job for the team.

"We are very enthusiastic about having him on board and are looking forward to getting him behind the wheel of the TRADIE Ford Mustang in a few short weeks.”

The first Gen3 shakedowns are scheduled for January 30 (Queensland Raceway) and February 1 (Winton).

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championship will commence in Newcastle on March 10-12.

Tickets are on sale on Supercars.com and Ticketek.com.

2023 Repco Supercars Championship grid (as of November 3, 2022)



Broc Feeney

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Shane van Gisbergen

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Will Davison

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Anton De Pasquale

Shell V-Power Racing Team

James Courtney

Tickford Racing

Cam Waters

Tickford Racing

Thomas Randle

Tickford Racing

Declan Fraser

Tickford Racing

Nick Percat

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Chaz Mostert

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Will Brown

Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki

Erebus Motorsport

Mark Winterbottom

Team 18

Scott Pye

Team 18

Todd Hazelwood

CoolDrive Racing

Matt Payne

Penrite Racing

David Reynolds

Penrite Racing

Andre Heimgartner

Brad Jones Racing

Jack Smith

Brad Jones Racing

Bryce Fullwood

Brad Jones Racing

Macauley Jones

Brad Jones Racing

Tim Slade

PremiAir Racing

James Golding

PremiAir Racing

Jack Le Brocq

Matt Stone Racing

Cameron Hill

Matt Stone Racing

Related News