Erebus joins greats with championship double

27 Nov
Erebus is now one of only six teams to complete the driver/team championship double
  • Erebus becomes sixth team to win drivers' and teams' title in same year

  • Brodie Kostecki won drivers' title, Erebus the teams' title in Adelaide

  • Erebus won 10 races, claimed 13 poles in first Gen3 season

After an historic season, Erebus Motorsport joined the great Supercars teams with a drivers’ and teams’ championship double.

Brodie Kostecki clinched the 2023 Repco Supercars Championship on Saturday at the VAILO Adelaide 500, but the teams’ title was still alive.

Heading into Sunday, Triple Eight Race Engineering was 161 points behind Erebus, and was aiming to deny the Coca-Cola Chevrolet squad the double.

However, Erebus’ path to the double was eased once Shane van Gisbergen was rubbed out of Sunday’s race. With Kostecki and Will Brown eighth and 14th, Erebus won by 176 points.

Kostecki celebrates breakthrough title with epic burnout

The Betty Klimenko-owned team joined 11-time winners Triple Eight, Holden Racing Team, Stone Brothers Racing, DJR Team Penske and HSV Dealer Team in the teams’ championship party.

HRT won the first four teams’ titles, with the championship first recognised in 1999. All four seasons saw HRT do the double, while is denied Triple Eight the double in 2009.

SBR won three straight doubles between 2003 and 2005 before the HSV Dealer Team, armed with Rick Kelly and Garth Tander, swept the pool in 2006 and 2007.

Triple Eight won eight of nine teams’ championships between 2008 and 2016, with the team missing out on the double after James Courtney and Mark Winterbottom won for their Ford teams in 2010 and 2015.

The first of DJR Team Penske’s three teams’ championships came in the year Scott McLaughlin was pipped by Jamie Whincup, before Triple Eight turned the tables on the team when McLaughlin won in 2018.

Triple Eight added two more doubles in 2021 and 2022, before Erebus made history to win the first championships of the Gen3 era.


Supercars teams’ championship winners

Triple Eight Race Engineering: 2008, 2010*, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015*, 2016, 2018, 2021, 2022

Holden Racing Team: 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009*

Stone Brothers Racing: 2003, 2004, 2005

DJR Team Penske: 2017*, 2019, 2020

HSV Dealer Team: 2006, 2007

Erebus Motorsport: 2023

*Won teams' championship only

Supercars App

Related News