DJR unveils 2021 driver line-up

06 Nov 2020
‘They are an excellent combination’

The Shell V-Power Racing Team has confirmed its long-suspected new driver line-up of Will Davison and Anton De Pasquale for the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship.

The popular Ford squad has emerged as the sport’s dominant force in recent seasons, winning three drivers’ championships and three teams’ titles in the past four years.

Although Team Penske’s involvement will not continue, many believe DJR are well enough positioned to carry forward their status as a perennial frontrunner.

That would be good news for Davison and De Pasquale, both earning a well-deserved opportunity.

Davison actually started his full-time career at DJR back in 2006, beginning a journey that would have him become a two-time Bathurst 1000 winner.

Flashback: Davison's first win with DJR

The 38-year-old’s latest opportunity comes after a bumpy year in which he started on fire at Tickford Racing, only to lose his seat due to a sponsorship withdrawal during the COVID-19 hiatus.

De Pasquale, 25, is on the rise, coming off his third – and best – season with Penrite Racing.

DJR managing director Ryan Story made clear of his excitement at the blend of youth and experience the duo will bring to the table.

“They are an excellent combination,” said Story.

“They are both fast, they both have runs on the board, and they will do very well for Dick Johnson Racing and the Shell V-Power Racing Team.


“Will is someone who is incredibly experienced and also well-known to the team.

“He really kickstarted his full-time Supercars career here and drove for us from 2006 to 2008 so it’s somewhat of a homecoming, and we are pleased he’s joining the fold.

“In the case of Anton, he is one of the up-and-coming, next-generation drivers in the sport, and he’s shown his tremendous talent on the track and his professionalism off it. He’s a driver’s driver.”

De Pasquale's headline moments with Penrite Racing

It’s not yet been confirmed which driver will don the coveted #17 associated with team co-owner Dick Johnson and more recently Scott McLaughlin.

“Will and Anton are great new additions to our team and I couldn’t be happier,” Johnson said.

“I’ve known Will forever and he showed again at Bathurst his exceptional speed and maturity.

“Anton is someone who caught my eye even before joining Erebus in 2018 with his exploits overseas. He’s a real talent and a future champion of the sport.”

Davison and De Pasquale replace McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard, who had been teammates since 2017.

While McLaughlin is contesting the full 2021 IndyCar Series, Coulthard’s plans are less certain.

Potential main game seats remain up for grabs at Kelly Racing and Matt Stone Racing, while he also has the option of accepting a Shell V-Power Racing co-drive.

Related News