The key car number changes for 2021 opener

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 24/02/2021
  • By James Pavey

There will be some key changes with regards to race numbers when cars roll out of BP Ultimate Pit Lane for this weekend's Repco Mt Panorama 500.

The #1 is again absent from the grid in 2021, with reigning champion Scott McLaughlin leaving for IndyCar.

The iconic #17, which McLaughlin ran between 2017 and 2020, will be carried by Dick Johnson Racing recruit Will Davison.

Gone is the #12 for DJR, with Anton De Pasquale running the #100 this weekend in Bathurst in homage to sponsor Pirtek.

The iconic Ford team is yet to confirm which number De Pasquale will run for the rest of the season.

Macauley Jones will also run a new number in 2021, the #96, as Brad Jones Racing runs a fully-fledged four-car team for the first time.

With Tickford downscaling to three cars ahead of the new season, the #55 will be absent from the grid for the first time since 2005. Jack Le Brocq, who campaigned the #55 last year, shifts to the #5 Truck Assist entry.

David Reynolds will don the #26 in Penrite colours for new team Kelly Grove Racing, with the number reflecting the sponsor's founding year of 1926, as well as a nod to Australia Day.

It marks the first time since 1995 that the #15, which was campaigned by Rick Kelly between 2003 and 2020, bar 2007 when he carried the #1, won't be on the grid.

Cars will hit the track on Friday for opening practice of the Repco Mt Panorama 500. Tickets are on sale now.

This weekend’s event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and the Seven Network, and will be streamed on Kayo. Check out the full TV schedule here.

Repco Mt Panorama 500 car numbers

# Driver Team
2 Bryce Fullwood Walkinshaw Andretti United
3 Tim Slade Blanchard Racing Team
4 Jack Smith Brad Jones Racing
5 Jack Le Brocq Tickford Racing
6 Cameron Waters Tickford Racing
7 Andre Heimgartner Kelly Grove Racing
8 Nick Percat Brad Jones Racing
9 Will Brown Erebus Motorsport
100 Anton De Pasquale Dick Johnson Racing
14 Todd Hazelwood Brad Jones Racing
17 Will Davison Dick Johnson Racing
18 Mark Winterbottom Team 18
19 Fabian Coulthard Team Sydney
20 Scott Pye Team 18
22 Garry Jacobson Team Sydney
25 Chaz Mostert Walkinshaw Andretti United
26 David Reynolds Kelly Grove Racing
34 Jake Kostecki Matt Stone Racing
35 Zane Goddard Matt Stone Racing
44 James Courtney Tickford Racing
88 Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Race Engineering
96 Macauley Jones Brad Jones Racing
97 Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Race Engineering
99 Brodie Kostecki Erebus Motorsport
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter