2023 enduro grid set with Penrite Racing pairings

22 Aug
Penrite Racing combos complete 2023 enduro grid
4 mins by James Pavey

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championship enduro grid is complete, with Penrite Racing confirming its pairings for Sandown and Bathurst.

Who Garth Tander and Kévin Estre will drive with was the final piece of the 2023 enduro grid puzzle — until Wednesday.

Penrite Racing has finally confirmed Tander will partner fellow Bathurst winner Reynolds, with international Porsche star Estre joining rookie Matt Payne.

The departing Reynolds has five-time — and defending — Bathurst winner Tander in his corner for his final start with the team.

Tander won the Great Race in 2000, 2009, 2011, 2020 and 2022 — the final two coming alongside Shane van Gisbergen at Red Bull Ampol Racing.

The 2007 series champion will make his 25th Bathurst start, and Reynolds his 16th — their combined 39 starts making for the most experienced combination on the grid.

Remarkably, Penrite Racing also has the least experienced combination, Payne’s one start in 2022 combined with rookie Estre’s zero.

“I don’t think you could ask for a better endurance line-up,” Penrite Racing Team Principal David Cauchi said.

"The experience that both Garth and Kévin possess is world class and we can't wait to kick off our endurance campaign with them alongside Matt and Dave.

"Garth has been working with us from the start of the year; his feedback has been fantastic as we learned more about the Gen3 cars.

"Kévin brings with him phenomenal racing experience and impeccable driving skill which has brought him a great deal of success. So, we are excited to have him driving our Mustang with Matt.”

Reynolds said: “I am thrilled to drive with Garth this year. We have known each other for a long time and he’s as good as they come.

"He is really respected, his knowledge of the sport and his craft is fantastic, and if there is one person you want to be paired with for enduros, it’s him."

Payne added: “It’s really exciting to paired with Kévin Estre. He is a bit of a global superstar with a mega amount of experience under his belt. He’s someone I am looking forward to working with and learning from as we head into the enduro rounds.”


"I have done some endurance racing overseas myself last year and always saw his name at the top of the time sheets so it will be great to combine our experience and see what we can do in the back half of the year."

Tander won the 2020 and 2022 Great Races with van Gisbergen

Tander will make his first Bathurst start in a Ford, having made all 24 previous starts in Commodores.

"I’m excited to pair up with Dave for Sandown and Bathurst,” the 57-time Supercars race winner said.

"With Dave being a former Bathurst winner himself, I’m looking forward to learning more about how Dave goes about the business of driving fast at those two events.

"Dave and I have been in the same team together in the past, but never shared the same car, so should be a bit of fun given how much of a character Dave is, but when it’s time to go to work, it will be full focus on the job at hand.

"I’m also looking forward to working with Matt as he continues his journey as a rookie driver this year, I think he’ll learn an immense amount from Kévin Estre over the two endurance events, given how much of a pro Kévin is."

Estre added: "Really pleased to share the car with Matt. He’s a talented young driver and has showed his speed many times in his career already.

“He’s a rookie in Supercars but I’m sure that he’s going to help me a lot to be on pace as soon as possible! I can’t wait to be racing with the whole team."

The Penrite Oil Sandown 500 will take place from September 15-17, before the Repco Bathurst 1000 on October 5-8.

2023 enduro combinations



Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Shane van Gisbergen/Richie Stanaway

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Will Davison/Alex Davison

Shell V-Power Racing Team

James Courtney/Zak Best

Tickford Racing

Cam Waters/James Moffat

Tickford Racing

Thomas Randle/Garry Jacobson

Tickford Racing

Declan Fraser/Tyler Everingham

Tickford Racing

Nick Percat/Fabian Coulthard

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Will Brown/Jack Perkins

Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki/David Russell

Erebus Motorsport

Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso

Team 18

Scott Pye/Warren Luff

Team 18

Todd Hazelwood/Tim Blanchard

CoolDrive Racing

David Reynolds/Garth Tander

Penrite Racing

Matt Payne/Kevin Estre

Penrite Racing

Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood

Brad Jones Racing

Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore

Brad Jones Racing

Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys

Brad Jones Racing

Jack Smith/Jaxon Evans

Brad Jones Racing

Tim Slade/Jonathon Webb

PremiAir Racing

James Golding/Dylan O'Keeffe

PremiAir Racing

Jack Le Brocq/Jayden Ojeda

Matt Stone Racing

Cameron Hill/Jaylyn Robotham

Matt Stone Racing

Craig Lowndes/Zane Goddard

Triple Eight Race Engineering*

Jake Kostecki/Aaron Love

Blanchard Racing Team*

Simona De Silvestro/Kai Allen

Shell V-Power Racing Team**

*Sandown and Bathurst wildcard

**Bathurst wildcard only

Related News