WAU confirms Bathurst driver pairings

29 Jul 2022
Coulthard joins defending winner Mostert

Defending Bathurst winners Walkinshaw Andretti United has confirmed its pairings for October’s Great Race.

Star recruit Fabian Coulthard will race with Chaz Mostert, who won last year’s Repco Bathurst 1000.

Long-time WAU co-driver Warren Luff, meanwhile, will race with Nick Percat.

Coulthard joined the team shortly after he departed Team Sydney, which later became PremiAir Racing.

The veteran Kiwi, who turned 40 on Thursday, finished third in the 2017 Bathurst 1000 with DJR Team Penske.

Mostert won last year’s race, his second Bathurst win, alongside Lee Holdsworth from pole position.

Coulthard is armed with his best chance yet to win

Holdsworth later took the full-time vacancy at Grove Racing, ensuring WAU was on the lookout for a new co-driver.

They found one in the form of 471-start veteran Coulthard, with Luff also retained.

The quartet comprises 58 Bathurst starts, three victories and 13 podiums.

Both Coulthard and Luff have frequented WAU garages at race events in 2022.

Some 10 weeks out from the race, WAU has finally allocated its two cars with co-drivers.

Mostert and Coulthard as arguably the race favourites, given last year’s form and Coulthard’s experience.

"I’m really excited to be teaming up with Chaz in the Mobil 1 Optus Racing No. 25 this year, we are working really well together," Coulthard said.

"Being close to the team inside the garage has been awesome, I felt right at home from that start.


"It’s been great spending time at the track and seeing how everyone works operationally; it all helps with just the one enduro this season.

"We will have one final test day before we head to Bathurst which will be important.

"I’m really excited to see what we can achieve at The Mountain in October that’s for sure."

Luff returns with WAU for a ninth straight season, and has stood on the Bathurst podium six times.

Luff and Percat combine for 32 Bathurst starts

"It’s fantastic to be alongside Nick this year in the Mobil 1 NTI Racing No. 2," Luff said.

"It’s been great working with him so far this year, I think we are very similar in terms of what we would like out of the car, so it’s all been really smooth.

"I’ve spent a lot of time inside the garage this year which has been great, and something that wasn’t as easy the last few years, so that definitely helps as well.

"Bathurst preparations will start to ramp up soon, I’m looking forward to getting back in the car for our final test day, and then of course getting to Bathurst."

Coulthard and Luff will complete an Additional Driver session at Sandown before October’s Repco Bathurst 1000.

Mostert and Percat will resume their 2022 campaigns at this weekend's OTR SuperSprint, which is WAU's 400th round.

Cars will hit the track at the OTR SuperSprint on Saturday. Purchase your tickets now.

2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 combinations



Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Will Davison/Alex Davison

Shell V-Power Racing Team

James Courtney/Zane Goddard

Tickford Racing

Cam Waters/James Moffat

Tickford Racing

Thomas Randle/Zak Best

Tickford Racing

Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki

Tickford Racing

Nick Percat/Warren Luff

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Chaz Mostert/Fabian Coulthard

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Will Brown/Jack Perkins

Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki/David Russell

Erebus Motorsport

Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso

Team 18

Scott Pye/TBA

Team 18

Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard

CoolDrive Racing

David Reynolds/Matt Payne

Penrite Racing

Lee Holdsworth/Matt Campbell

Penrite Racing

Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood

Brad Jones Racing

Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore

Brad Jones Racing

Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys

Brad Jones Racing

Jack Smith/TBA

Brad Jones Racing

Chris Pither/TBA

PremiAir Racing

James Golding/TBA

PremiAir Racing

Jack Le Brocq/Aaron Seton

Matt Stone Racing

Todd Hazelwood/TBA

Matt Stone Racing

Craig Lowndes/Declan Fraser

Triple Eight (wildcard)

Richie Stanaway/Greg Murphy

Erebus Motorsport (wildcard)

Matt Chahda/Jaylyn Robotham

Matt Chahda Motorsport (wildcard)


Anderson Motorsport (wildcard)

Related News