Top Supercars drivers without a championship

10 Jan 2023
Cam Waters finished runner-up for a second time in 2022

Last year, Cam Waters joined an exclusive group of drivers to have finished second overall twice without winning a title.

Waters came home second in 2022 behind Shane van Gisbergen, who cantered to the crown.

It was the second time in three years Waters finished runner-up, having finished behind Scott McLaughlin in 2020.

At 28, Waters has ample time to break his championship duck — and enters 2023 a title favourite.

For now, he is a bridesmaid in both the championship and at Mount Panorama, where he has finished on the podium in the last three years.

Waters is one of 11 drivers to have finished runner-up, and be without a championship.

Only two other drivers — Greg Murphy and George Fury — have finished second overall twice and failed to win a championship.

Murphy (R) won Bathurst, but not a title

Fury finished second in 1983 and 1986, and finished third in the 1987 Bathurst 1000.

Murphy has won more races than any other driver — 28 — without winning a title.

The Kiwi finished second behind Mark Skaife in 2002, and again behind Marcos Ambrose in 2003.

Two of Waters’ contemporaries are also pushing to break their title ducks as they climb the race winners’ list.

Will Davison (22 wins) and Chaz Mostert (21) are behind Murphy, and both drivers have come close to the top.

Davison finished second behind Jamie Whincup in 2009 with the Holden Racing Team.

The team later became Walkinshaw Andretti United, which helped Mostert to third in 2021 and 2022.

Mostert is going from strength to strength

Since the category's inception in 1960, 37 drivers have won two or more races in their careers, yet have failed to win a title.

Seven drivers will be on the 2022 Repco Supercars Championship grid, with Davison and Mostert winning more than 10.

Several other legendary drivers have had success, but never won a championship.


Larry Perkins (fourth in 1994, 1995 and 1998) and Steven Richards (fifth in 2004) both scored several Bathurst wins, but fell short in title races.

The 2022 season was still successful for Waters, who became the first non-DJR driver in five years to be highest-ranked Ford driver.

Tickford last led the way for the Blue Oval with Mark Winterbottom in 2016.

Waters managed to clinch second despite missing the podium in the last four races on the Gold Coast and Adelaide.

Davison returned to victory lane in 2022

“Obviously you always want to finish the season with a trophy,” Waters said of Adelaide.

"Second in the championship is nice, and third in the teams’, so overall a pretty good year for us.

“But there’s still plenty to improve on and work on to go for a championship in 2023.

"A huge thanks to the team, our sponsors, fans, and families for their support, it’s been a great year and I’ve really enjoyed it.

"I’m really looking forward to next year and coming out swinging in Newcastle.”

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championship will commence in Newcastle on March 10-12.

Tickets are on sale on Supercars.com and Ticketek.com.

Drivers who finished second but never won a title

*Active drivers

Alan Hamilton: 1969Jim McKeown: 1970Mike Stilwell: 1972Murray Carter: 1975Kevin Bartlett: 1980Bob Holden: 1982George Fury: 1983, 1986Alan Jones: 1993Greg Murphy: 2002, 2003Will Davison*: 2009Cam Waters*: 2020, 2022

Most wins by drivers who have not won a championship (multiple wins)




Greg Murphy


Will Davison


Chaz Mostert


Jason Bright


Todd Kelly


Fabian Coulthard


Allan Grice


Steven Richards


Cam Waters


Anton De Pasquale

, George Fury, Larry Perkins, Paul Radisich


David Reynolds

, Tony Longhurst, Jason Bargwanna, Paul Dumbrell 


Alan Jones


Nick Percat

, Lee Holdsworth, Jonathon Webb


Kevin Bartlett, Steven Johnson, Paul Morris, Warren Luff, Steve Owen, Alex Premat


Tim Slade

, Jim McKeown, John Harvey, Wayne Gardner, David Besnard, Cameron McConville, Sebastien Bourdais, Dean Canto, Michael Caruso, James Moffat

Correct to 2022 VALO Adelaide 500

Related News