Chaz Mostert hit with grid penalty over impeding incident
Mostert found to have impeded Richie Stanaway in Boost Mobile Qualifying
Mostert/Fabian Coulthard to start 10th, Stanaway/Nash Morris 19th
The Chaz Mostert/Fabian Coulthard entry has been hit with a grid penalty following an impeding incident in Boost Mobile Qualifying.
Mostert qualified eighth in his #25 Mobil 1 Optus Ford, with Broc Feeney claiming pole in the Boost Mobile Top Ten Shootout. However, it emerged after the Shootout that Mostert had been sanctioned over an incident in qualifying involving Richie Stanaway and Bryce Fullwood.
According to the stewards report, Stanaway was on a push lap, with Mostert on a preparation lap. Mostert was on the racing line at Turn 13 when Stanaway arrived, with the PremiAir Racing driver aborting his lap.
Per the report, Mostert accepted that he impeded Stanaway, but stated he hadn't been alerted to Stanaway's approach. Mostert was aware Fullwood was on a slow lap, but said Fullwood obstructed his sight of Stanaway.
The stewards determined that Mostert "unnecessarily impeded" Stanaway, and while accepting Fullwood had obstructed his view, handed the #25 a two-position penalty.
The usual three-place penalty was downgraded to a two-place due to the mitigating circumstances of Fullwood's involvement.
The stewards report reads:
Competitor: WAU Racing Pty Ltd
Car and Driver: Car 25 - Chaz Mostert and Fabian Coulthard
Session: Qualifying Race 26
Date: Saturday, 13 September 2025
Time: 1514hrs
Fact: The Driver of Car 25 (Chaz Mostert) unnecessarily impeded Car 62 at Turn 13.
Rule: Sch.B2 Article 2.1.1 Careless Driving, departing from the Standard of a competent Driver
Decision: 2 Grid place penalty for Car 25 in Race 26
Reason: The Stewards summoned and heard from the Drivers of Car 25 and Car 62 and the Team Representatives and reviewed judicial footage from Car 62.
Car 62 was on a push lap and had successfully negotiated through a number of cars. Car 25 was on a preparation lap and was on the racing line at Turn 13 when Car 62 arrived as a result of which Car 62 had to abort the lap.
The Driver of Car 25 acknowledged that the Driver od Car 62 had been impeded. He explained that he hadn’t received a message for his Team that Car 62 was approaching. He said that when he looked in his mirrors before Turn 13 he saw Car 14 exiting Turn 12 and knew that Car 14 was on a slow lap. His sight of Car 62 behind Car 14 was obstructed by Car 14.
Having considered the matter extensively, the Stewards determined that Car 25 unnecessarily impeded Car 62. The Stewards took into account the heavy traffic and that Car 25’s view of Car 62 was obstructed by the position Car 14 and impose a 2 grid position penalty instead of the 3 grid place penalty usually imposed for this type of infringement.
Supercars return to the track on Sunday for a 20-minute Warm Up at 9:30am local/10:00am AEST, before the 500km, 102-lap Race 26 commences at 1:45pm local/2:15pm AEST.