Percat pinpoints positive despite Mostert clash penalty

21 Mar
Nick Percat and Chaz Mostert cleared the air after their clash in Melbourne, which led to a penalty for the MSR driver
  • Nick Percat penalised over Chaz Mostert contact

  • Percat crossed line third, reclassified sixth

  • MSR veteran's car was "seriously fast"

Car speed proved a major positive for Nick Percat despite the Matt Stone Racing driver missing out on a podium after contact with Chaz Mostert.

Mostert and Percat were fighting over fourth early in Race 3 at the MSS Security Melbourne SuperSprint before they made contact at Turn 13.

Matt Stone Racing recruit Percat hit the rear of Mostert’s #25 Mobil 1 Optus Ford, which surfed through the grass and rejoined in 10th.

The #10 Bendix Chevrolet eventually crossed the line third, but was demoted to sixth after Percat was hit with a five-second penalty.

Percat and Mostert — formerly teammates at Walkinshaw Andretti United — cleared the air after the race, with the WAU star fighting back to fourth.

While a first podium since 2022 went begging, Percat was delighted to have pace, and believes he could have challenged the front-running Triple Eight duo.


“Qualified well for Race 1 in sixth, the race car in this afternoon’s race was mega fast, so went from sixth to third at the chequered flag,” said Percat, who moved to fifth in the championship.

"Copped a penalty for some ‘rubbing is racing’ with Chaz, but the positive of it all was that the Bendix car was seriously fast.

"I thought if I could have got through on Matt Payne and made it stick we probably could have harassed the Red Bulls. We will try again tomorrow."

Percat was passed by eventual third-place finisher Matt Payne at Turn 3 on lap 6, and hounded the #19 Penrite Ford to the end.

An error by Payne on the final lap handed third back to Percat, which eventually became sixth with the penalty.

Percat has it all to do on Friday, however, with the MSR veteran qualifying 14th for Race 4, with Tickford Racing driver Cam Waters to start from pole.

Race 3, at 19 laps, will commence at 2:55pm AEST.

Related News