Murray overhauls Perkins to win Super2 opener

11 Mar
Eggleston rookie passes veteran to win Race 1
2 mins by James Pavey

Cooper Murray has passed Jack Perkins to win the first race of the new Dunlop Series season in Newcastle.

Murray, who started from pole position, won Race 1 after overtaking Perkins at Turn 11.

Perkins cleared Murray off the line and enjoyed a clear lead into Turn 1.

  • Click here for Race 1 results

It took six laps for Murray to launch his attack — but when he did, it was decisive, the #88 Commodore scything down the inside.

It came in good time, with the race neutralised on the following lap when Jason Gomersall crashed at Turn 8.

The 21-lapper was delayed following a crash in the preceding Aussie Racing Cars race.

It eventually ran time certain and to just 12 laps, with Murray taking the chequered flag by 1.9786s.

Zak Best came home third in his #17 Anderson Mustang ahead of Kai Allen, who made it an Eggleston one-four.

Jay Hanson finished fifth ahead of Brad Vaughan, Matt Chahda, Ryan Wood, Jaylyn Robotham and Cameron Crick.


Nash Morris was an early casualty after suffering a damaged steering arm, and he was forced into retirement.

Perkins headed Murray and Best; down the order, Elly Morrow spun on her own at Turn 8 and dropped to the rear of the field.

Murray launched an assault on Perkins on lap 5, and the pole-sitter was hung out by the second-generation racer.

Gomersall’s Turn 8 incident left Aaron Love with nowhere to go, with Jordan Sinni also arriving on the scene and hitting the Petronas Ford.

Murray led the field to green on lap 10, with Perkins, Best and Allen behind.

Perkins dropped back and was 1.4s behind Murray after the first green lap.

Behind them, there was action aplenty — Love turned Jim Pollicina into the barriers, with James Masterton taking avoiding action.

Murray took the chequered flag by 1.9786s over Perkins,with Best trailed by Allen.

Cameron McLeod was the first of the Super3 runners to greet the chequered flag, followed by Jett Johnson and Mason Kelly.

Sunday’s action will commence with Race 2 qualifying at 10:25am local time, followed by Race 2 at 1:50pm.

Related News