Legends Lane inductees named for 2019

11 Oct 2019
Four more Bathurst legends recognised
2 mins by James Pavey

Four famous names have been added to Legends Lane, as part of the festivities at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Greg Murphy, Paul Morris, Denny Hulme and Peter Williamson have each been honoured for their contribution to motor racing at Mount Panorama.

Murphy won the Great Race four times – 1996, ‘99, 2003 and ’04 – while his record-breaking pole lap from ’03 is also one of the event’s most famous moments.

Morris meanwhile has a unique Bathurst treble; the only driver to win the Bathurst 1000 (2014), 12 Hour (2007) and 6 Hour (2017).

Hulme is most famous for winning the 1967 Formula 1 World Championship with Brabham, but also contested the Great Race 10 times.

He won his class in 1991, before suffering a fatal heart attack while competing at the event the following year.

Also a class winner at Bathurst, the late Williamson has a unique place in the event’s history, having become the first driver to carry an in-car camera system in 1979, dubbed ‘Racecam’.

Williamson and Hulme’s families were on hand for the announcement at Bathurst today along with Murphy and Morris.

Supercars CEO Sean Seamer said the 2019 inductees were being recognised for achievements that will never be forgotten.

“This year’s class of Legends created moments that will be remembered by fans for a long time,” Seamer said.

“They are all pioneers in their own way and true greats of our sport in many ways.

“It’s an honour to be here today inducting these four drivers into Legends Lane alongside other motorsport greats.”

This year’s quartet makes it 21 drivers and personalities who have etched their names into Mount Panorama folklore as Legends Lane inductees.

Legends Lane Members

Kevin Bartlett 2017

Colin Bond 2017

John Bowe 2017

Peter Brock 2017


Fred Gibson 2017

John Goss 2017

Allan Grice 2017

John Harvey 2017

Bob Jane 2017

Dick Johnson 2017

Allan Moffat 2017

Bob Morris 2017

Larry Perkins 2017

Jim Richards 2017

Gregg Hansford 2018

Mike Raymond 2018

Mark Skaife 2018

Denny Hulme 2019

Paul Morris 2019

Greg Murphy 2019

Peter Williamson 2019

Related News