Everingham scores Team 18 co-drive

16 Aug 2022
Dubbo driver will race with Scott Pye

Tyler Everingham has been secured alongside Scott Pye by Team 18 for Bathurst.

Everingham, who races for MW Motorsport in Super2, will make his second Great Race start.

The 21-year-old will share the #20 Commodore with two-time Bathurst podium-finisher Pye.

He hails from New South Wales town Dubbo, which is two-and-a-half hours north of Bathurst.

Everingham is the fourth different co-driver in as many seasons for Pye, and the youngest.

The five-time Super2 race winner made his Bathurst debut in a Garry Rogers Motorsport wildcard in 2020.

Everingham already has two Super2 wins to his name this season, and is eyeing a third this weekend.

The New South Welshman will drive Pye’s car during Friday’s Additional Driver session at Sandown.

Everingham will then complete his regular Super2 duties before again suiting up at Monday’s ride day.

He will turn laps at Team 18’s pre-Bathurst test day at Winton on September 28.

It also reunites Everingham with engineer Richard Hollway, who oversaw the GRM wildcard.

"It’s really exciting to team up with Scott Pye and Team 18 for the Bathurst 1000 this year," said Everingham, the 2018 V8 Touring Car Series champion.

"I’m extremely determined to make the most of this opportunity, it’s one of the best seats on the grid at the moment for a co-drive.

"It was pretty special to get the call up from Charlie [Schwerkolt] to join the team for Bathurst.

Everingham has won two races this year

"The wildcard in 2020 was extremely valuable, that was my first time in the 1000 and to be the main driver in that entry was a great experience.

"A massive thanks to Charlie Schwerkolt, Bruin Beasley, Scott Pye and everyone at Team 18 for the chance to join them.


"I can’t wait to turn my first laps with the team at Sandown."

Pye was delighted to secure the 2019 Mike Kable Young Gun Award winner.

"Having Tyler locked away now means we can start to really focus and push forward with our preparation into that event," Pye said.

"We had a lot of open and ongoing discussions about who our co-driver was going to be.

"Once Tyler came up we kept a very close eye on him and he’s been doing a fantastic job in Super2.

'It was really a no-brainer to get him locked away'

"It was really a no-brainer to get him locked away and it was a decision I was really happy with."

Team 18 was forced to look for a new co-driver after James Golding took the full-time vacancy at PremiAir Racing.

Schwerkolt said Everingham stood out amid a host of talent.

"We’re extremely thrilled to welcome Tyler to the team to join up with Scott for Bathurst," Schwerkolt said.

"We had a host of drivers to choose from for the seat and Tyler stood out amongst the pack for someone with his pace and experience at the mountain for his age.

"He shows maturity well beyond his years and he has fitted in well with the crew for the time he has spent with the team already.

"We’re excited to encourage young talent into the championship."

Everingham and Pye will resume their respective campaigns at Sandown this weekend.

2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 combinations



Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Will Davison/Alex Davison

Shell V-Power Racing Team

James Courtney/Zane Goddard

Tickford Racing

Cam Waters/James Moffat

Tickford Racing

Thomas Randle/Zak Best

Tickford Racing

Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki

Tickford Racing

Nick Percat/Warren Luff

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Chaz Mostert/Fabian Coulthard

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Will Brown/Jack Perkins

Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki/David Russell

Erebus Motorsport

Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso

Team 18

Scott Pye/Tyler Everingham

Team 18

Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard

CoolDrive Racing

David Reynolds/Matt Payne

Penrite Racing

Lee Holdsworth/Matt Campbell

Penrite Racing

Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood

Brad Jones Racing

Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore

Brad Jones Racing

Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys

Brad Jones Racing

Jack Smith/TBA

Brad Jones Racing

Chris Pither/Cameron Hill

PremiAir Racing

James Golding/Dylan O'Keeffe

PremiAir Racing

Jack Le Brocq/Aaron Seton

Matt Stone Racing

Todd Hazelwood/Jayden Ojeda

Matt Stone Racing

Craig Lowndes/Declan Fraser

Triple Eight (wildcard)

Richie Stanaway/Greg Murphy

Erebus Motorsport (wildcard)

Matt Chahda/Jaylyn Robotham

Matt Chahda Motorsport (wildcard)


Anderson Motorsport (wildcard)

Related News