De Silvestro, Allen pair up in DJR wildcard

24 Jul
Swiss driver to make Bathurst return with Super2 rookie

Simona De Silvestro will make a sensational Repco Bathurst 1000 return aboard a Shell V-Power Racing Team wildcard Mustang with Super2 rookie Kai Allen.

Dick Johnson Racing announced Tuesday that De Silvestro, 34, will make her first Supercars start since 2019.

The current factory Porsche driver will share the #98 Shell V-Power Mustang with Allen, who is currently second in the Dunlop Series standings.

Mount Gambier teenager Allen will be aged 18 years, three months and 12 days on race day in October.

Allen’s debut comes amid recent changes to driver licensing, with the #98 the second official wildcard entered in this year’s Great Race.

Craig Lowndes and Zane Goddard will share Triple Eight’s #888 Supercheap Auto Chevrolet Camaro at both Sandown and Bathurst.

“I am thrilled to race back at the iconic track in Bathurst and want to thank DJR and Shell V-Power for this amazing opportunity,” De Silvestro said.

“Four years has been too long but who would have thought in 2019 that I would not be able to travel to Australia for such a long time.

Allen recently won the Townsville Super2 round

"I am looking forward to teaming up with young talent Kai and I am sure we will make a great team.

"Of course, I also want to thank Harvey Norman and Katie Page who have been supporting me all my career in Australia.

"I can’t wait to be back in Australia in September to start testing the new Gen3 car.”

Allen added: "I’m so proud and excited to be joining DJR as part of their first Bathurst wildcard, representing the Shell V-Power brand.

"I’m really looking forward to working with such a knowledgeable and well-respected team, who have seen so much success over the years.

"Co-driving with Simona will no doubt be a highlight of the year and I can’t wait to learn from her, as she is such an experienced driver."


The car will don the #98 in homage to Shell's 98 octane premium unleaded fuel, Shell V-Power Unleaded 98.

The car, like DJR’s two full-time entries, will carry backing from Shell V-Power, WM Waste, Rheem and Pivotel. However, the #98 will carry a unique version of the livery.

De Silvestro last raced in Bathurst in 2019

“This wildcard entry has been a long time coming for Dick Johnson Racing and we are extremely excited about it,” DJR CEO David Noble said.

"To have the enthusiasm and talent of Kai mixed with the experience of Simona is the perfect combination.

"Of course, this wildcard entry wouldn’t be possible without the support of our wonderful long-standing partners Viva Energy Australia, WM Waste, Rheem and Pivotel.

"As an organisation, we are driven to succeed and aim to prepare and deliver the car to a competitive level for Bathurst.”

DJR Team Principal Ben Croke added: “Kai Allen is a young talent we have had an eye on for over a year now.

"He drove the Mustang last year on an evaluation day and I was impressed with his speed, maturity, and work ethic. Simona brings a wealth of experience to the team.

"She will be a fantastic mentor for Kai through his first Repco Bathurst 1000, as she continues to be an inspiration for aspiring female drivers.”

The #98’s livery and testing plans will be revealed in due course.

2023 enduro combinations (as of July 25, 2023)



Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Shane van Gisbergen/Richie Stanaway

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Will Davison/Alex Davison

Shell V-Power Racing Team

James Courtney/Zak Best

Tickford Racing

Cam Waters/James Moffat

Tickford Racing

Thomas Randle/Garry Jacobson

Tickford Racing

Declan Fraser/Tyler Everingham

Tickford Racing

Nick Percat/Fabian Coulthard

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Will Brown/Jack Perkins

Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki/David Russell

Erebus Motorsport

Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso

Team 18

Scott Pye/Warren Luff

Team 18

Todd Hazelwood/TBA

CoolDrive Racing

TBA/Garth Tander

Penrite Racing

TBA/Kevin Estre

Penrite Racing

Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood

Brad Jones Racing

Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore

Brad Jones Racing

Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys

Brad Jones Racing

Jack Smith/Jaxon Evans

Brad Jones Racing

Tim Slade/Jonathon Webb

PremiAir Racing

James Golding/Dylan O'Keeffe

PremiAir Racing

Jack Le Brocq/Jayden Ojeda

Matt Stone Racing

Cameron Hill/Jaylyn Robotham

Matt Stone Racing

Craig Lowndes/Zane Goddard

Triple Eight Race Engineering*

Simona De Silvestro/Kai Allen

Shell V-Power Racing Team**

*Sandown and Bathurst wildcard

**Bathurst wildcard only

Related News