Chevrolet races into Supercars history books

14 May 2023
Eight out of nine wins help Chevy rise the ranks
2 mins by James Pavey

Chevrolet's sweep of the Bosch Power Tools Perth SuperSprint triggered a change in the pecking order of the most successful manufacturers in ATCC/Supercars Championship history.

Shane van Gisbergen, Will Brown and Broc Feeney took the three wins on offer late last month at Wanneroo Raceway to make it eight straight victories for Camaro drivers.

In doing so, they powered the Bowtie into fourth on the all-time ATCC/Supercars list of winningest marques with 18 championship race wins.

Having already passed Volvo (11) with van Gisbergen’s Thursday win at Albert Park, Chevrolet is now ahead of BMW (17) too.

BMW remains the category’s most successful European brand, having shone during the Group A era led by Jim Richards’ championship triumphs in 1985 and 1987.

Only Holden, Ford and Nissan are ahead of Chevrolet.

Holden’s tally will forever remain at 617, Feeney having clinched the now-defunct manufacturer’s last win at the 2022 Adelaide 500.

Ford’s 416th championship race win came via Cam Waters in the first ever Gen3 encounter in Newcastle two months ago, a figure which it will strive to add to next weekend at Symmons Plains.


Like BMW, Nissan was a force during the Group A ruleset but did add three more wins during the Car of the Future era, taking its tally to 31 before exiting Supercars at the end of 2019.

The first of Chevrolet’s 18 wins came via Bob Jane in the 1971 Sandown round.

Its last prior to Gen3 was Kevin Bartlett at Oran Park in 1982, setting up a more than 40-year wait for win number 11.

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championship will resume at the NED Whisky Tasmania SuperSprint on May 19-21.

Tickets for the event are on sale on Supercars.com and Ticketek.com.

Top five ATCC/Supercars Championship manufacturers by race wins

617: Holden416: Ford31: Nissan18: Chevrolet17: BMW

Related News