Heimgartner's place in Kiwi Supercars history

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 19/05/2021
  • By James Pavey

Andre Heimgartner’s breakthrough victory at the OTR SuperSprint helped the New Zealander add to his nation’s long list of Supercars success stories.

With his Race 9 win, Heimgartner became the 81st driver to win an ATCC/Supercars race, in the category’s 1034th race.

The Aucklander also became just the 13th driver to win a race, if you count the New Zealand-born, Australian-raised Steven Richards.


Modern-day heavyweights Scott McLaughlin and current series leader Shane van Gisbergen are by far the most successful, sharing 102 wins and four drivers’ titles.

McLaughlin, who won three straight championships between 2018 and 2020, won 56 races, and is Ford’s winningest driver.

Four-time Bathurst 1000 winner Greg Murphy is third with 28 wins, ahead of seven-time Bathurst winner Jim Richards.

McLaughlin won a New Zealand record 56 races

Murphy's last win came in 2005 on the streets of the Gold Coast, just a few months after he completed a home soil hat-trick of wins at Pukekohe. 

Richards, father of five-time Bathurst winner Steven, won 23 races and titles in 1985, 1987, 1990 and 1991.

Four Kiwis have won drivers’ titles: Richards (four), McLaughlin (three), van Gisbergen (one in 2016) and Robbie Francevic (one in 1986).

46 wins and counting for van Gisbergen

Francevic famously claimed the 1986 title aboard his Volvo 240, the only title win for the Swedish marque.

Fabian Coulthard is fifth on the list with 13 wins, ahead of Richards junior (10), Paul Radisich (eight) and Francevic (five).

Craig Baird, Simon Wills, Jason Richards and Richie Stanaway all won a single race, and have been joined by Heimgartner.

Murphy (R) won 28 races, including four Bathursts

New Zealand race fans can gear up to see van Gisbergen, Heimgartner and Coulthard at Pukekohe in November, with tickets on sale for the ITM Auckland SuperSprint.

Can Kelly Grove Racing ace Heimgartner add to his tally at Winton next weekend?

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to Victoria for the Winton SuperSprint across May 28-30. Tickets are available here.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo with highlights on 7 and 7 Plus. Check out the weekend schedule here.

New Zealand-born ATCC/Supercars race winners

56: Scott McLaughlin
46: Shane van Gisbergen
28: Greg Murphy
23: Jim Richards
13: Fabian Coulthard
10: Steven Richards
8: Paul Radisich
5: Robbie Francevic
1: Craig Baird, Simon Wills, Jason Richards, Richie Stanaway, Andre Heimgartner

New Zealand-born ATCC/Supercars champions

4: Jim Richards (1985, 1987, 1990, 1991)
3: Scott McLaughlin (2018, 2019, 2020)
1: Robbie Francevic (1986), Shane van Gisbergen (2016)

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter