Gallery: The last decade at SMSP

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 20/06/2020
  • By Connor O'Brien

Sydney Motorsport Park has had a stop-start presence on the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship calendar in recent times but has still featured on six occasions during the past decade.

The Eastern Creek venue returns in 2020 after a one-year hiatus, and will next weekend host the long-awaited return to racing. looks back at key Sydney Motorsport Park images from the 2010s. 


The return to SMSP was all one-way traffic in favour of Triple Eight, as Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup split the two race wins between them.

Jonathon Webb was the only non-Triple Eight driver to make it onto the front-row of the grid.

It was Lowndes though who ramped up his title challenge with a first-second double, as Whincup finished a lowly 23rd in the opener.


All three new brands got their first taste of Eastern Creek and Volvo would have a happy first impression as Scott McLaughlin jagged two poles and a race win.

Shane van Gisbergen took the other two victories.

It was not such smooth sailing for Tim Slade, who gets airborne here. He was subsequently forced to retire from the opener and was a non-starter the rest of the weekend.

Nick Percat meanwhile took the first podium of his solo career... and was rewarded alongside fellow top three finishers McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard with an ice bucket challenge.


Chaz Mostert stole the show to turn up the heat on his Prodrive Racing Australia teammate Mark Winterbottom in the championship battle. Mostert took two wins and a third while 'Frosty' could only manage second, eighth and 16th.

It was a good weekend for Brad Jones Racing as Jason Bright and Coulthard took three podiums between them.

A young Andre Heimgartner meanwhile went wheel-to-wheel with future teammate Rick Kelly on a weekend where he took the best result of his rookie campaign (seventh).


Mostert was quick again, taking ARMOR ALL Pole for both races. 

Triple Eight would come to the fore in race trim though, Whincup and van Gisbergen each scoring a win. 

James Courtney joined the pair on the Saturday podium.


The most recent daytime Supercars event at SMSP would bring stunning sunset shots and a championship-changing moment when McLaughlin and van Gisbergen came together at the start of the Saturday race.

Coulthard and Whincup split the race wins.

Coulthard would later return with Simona De Silvestro to test night running in a sign of what was to come.


The first night race of the modern era delivered spectacular scenes, and it was Triple Eight who again would rise to the occasion as van Gisbergen led home Whincup in a team 1-2.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter