The biggest winners and losers in Supercars enduros

12 Oct
The top two drivers in the Supercars standings scored the most points across the two biggest races
3 mins by James Pavey
  • Van Gisbergen/Stanaway lead Kostecki/Russell by six points

  • Only four pairings scored top 10 finishes in both enduros

  • De Pasquale the biggest winner, Waters the biggest loser across both races

For the first time since 2019, the Repco Supercars Championship hosted two endurance races, with the Penrite Oil Sandown 500 returning alongside the Repco Bathurst 1000.

In the year's longest races, the top two drivers in the standings ended up as the top two across both races on combined points.

Shane van Gisbergen and Richie Stanaway backed up their Sandown podium with victory in Sunday's Great Race, with title rival Brodie Kostecki second in both races with David Russell.

Drivers fought for the PIRTEK Enduro Cup between 2013 and 2019 before the effects of COVID-19 saw the award benched, with Bathurst hosting the only annual endurance race between 2020 and 2022. The award may be on the shelf for now, but the importance of scoring big in the biggest races remains as important as ever.

Recap: Race 24 2023 Repco Bathurst 1000

With two rounds remaining, van Gisbergen is just 131 points behind Erebus Motorsport star Kostecki with 600 points left to win.

Only four pairings brought home two top 10 finishes: van Gisbergen/ Stanaway (third and first), Kostecki/ Russell (second and second), Anton De Pasquale/Tony D’Alberto (eighth and third) and Will Brown/Jack Perkins (fourth and eighth).

Sandown winners Broc Feeney and Jamie Whincup would have made it five had the #88 Red Bull Ampol Camaro not suffered a cruel gear lever issue late in Sunday's race.


The Bathurst result all but ended Feeney's title charge; he was 228 points behind Kostecki before Sandown, and is now 180 points down.

Recap: Race 23 2023 Penrite Oil Sandown 500

It was a big enduro season for De Pasquale, Matt Payne and James Courtney, who ended up with the third, sixth and seventh highest tallies over the two races.

De Pasquale, Payne and Courtney were 12th, 18th and 19th in seventh before Sandown. After Bathurst, they are now seventh, 16th and 13th respectively.

The biggest loser was Cam Waters, who was 20th at Sandown after James Moffat picked up early race damage, before Moffat crashed out of Bathurst. Waters was sixth, 435 points off the pace, before Sandown. He is now ninth, a whopping 897 points down, and is just 61 points ahead of 11th.

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championship will resume at the Boost Mobile Gold Coast 500 on October 27-29, before concluding at the VAILO Adelaide 500 on November 23-26.

Combined Sandown/Bathurst points

  1. Shane van Gisbergen/Richie Stanaway (558)

  2. Brodie Kostecki/David Russell (552)

  3. Anton De Pasquale/Tony D’Alberto (438)

  4. Will Brown/Jack Perkins (420)

  5. Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup (372)

  6. Matt Payne/Kévin Estre (348)

  7. James Courtney/Zak Best (342)

  8. Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth (318)

  9. Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore (318)

  10. Will Davison/Alex Davison (306)

  11. Tim Slade/Jonathon Webb (300)

  12. Jack Le Brocq/Jayden Ojeda (282)

  13. James Golding/Dylan O’Keeffe (276)

  14. Declan Fraser/Tyler Everingham (234)

  15. David Reynolds/Garth Tander (222)

  16. Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood (222)

  17. Zane Goddard/Craig Lowndes (222)

  18. Thomas Randle/Garry Jacobson (198)

  19. Nick Percat/Fabian Coulthard (198)

  20. Scott Pye/Warren Luff (192)

  21. Jack Smith/Jaxon Evans (186)

  22. Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys (174)

  23. Aaron Love/Jake Kostecki (162)

  24. Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso (144)

  25. Cameron Hill/Jaylyn Robotham (120)

  26. Todd Hazelwood/Tim Blanchard (108)

  27. Cam Waters/James Moffat (90)

  28. Simona De Silvestro/Kai Allen (90)

Related News