PremiAir Racing penalised over Sandown pit stop breach
James Golding made last-minute call to pit with damage on Sunday
Refuelling commenced whilst the car was on the ground, breaching regulations
PremiAir Racing have copped a hit in the teams' championship following the Penrite Oil Sandown 500.
The team have been slapped with a 30-point penalty due to a pit stop breach during Sunday's 250km Race 31 at the historic Melbourne venue.
The incident came amid a panicked stop when James Golding was forced to make a last-minute dive into pit lane after contact with Cam Waters punctured a tyre on lap 26.
Amid the rush there was confusion as the team frantically worked to diagnose the damage to the car, with the refuelling rig also attached to the car amid the panic.
The car remained on the ground as refuelling commenced, breaching regulations.
It marks the second time this season that PremiAir have received a teams' points penalty for a pit lane breach, having placed their tyres in an illegal position in pit lane back at Perth.
Having run as high as fourth in the early wet running, Golding would end up finishing one lap down in 20th, whilst rookie teammate Jayden Ojeda finished in 18th.
PremiAir remain 10th in the team's standings despite the penalty, now 234 points clear of Blanchard Racing Team in 11th.
There will be mass change at PremiAir next year, with Ojeda and 2022 Super2 champion Declan Fraser set to form an all-new driver pairing.
Roland Dane will also become Team Principal, returning to the Supercars pit lane for the first time since selling out of Triple Eight. Dane was in the PremiAir garage across the Sandown weekend.
PremiAir weren't the only teams to cop a penalty at Sandown, with Dick Johnson Racing receiving $4000 worth of fines for parking their cars parallel to their pit garage to load and unload passengers in the Friday ride session.
All cars are required to park at 45 degrees to their garages during ride sessions.
Read below for the full stewards report into PremiAir Racing's breach:
Competitor: PremiAir Pty Ltd
Car and Driver: Car 31 - James Golding
Session: Race 31
Date: Sunday, 16 November 2025
Time: 18:30 hrs
Fact: Car 31 all four wheels were on the ground at the commencement of the refuelling before being raised during the Pit Stop.
Rule: D26.6.4.2 The Car must have all four (4) wheels off the ground while Refuelling is taking place
Decision: Loss of 30 Teams Championship Points
Reason: The Stewards received and examined a Stewards Referral and Charge Sheet from the Deputy Race Director, which contains a signed admission by the Competitor’s Authorised Representative to the breach of the Rule, agreement to the penalty recommended by the Deputy Race Director and an acknowledgement that in doing so they waive all rights of Appeal.
The Stewards accept the admission of the Authorised Representative of the Competitor and find that penalty is consistent with penalties for similar breaches.
The Competitor is reminded that Decisions and Penalties that may be subject to Appeal are set out in B7.7.2 and the Rights to and process for an Appeal are set out in B5.