Allen edges Murray by 0.003s in Bathurst

Dunlop Series
23 Feb
Crashes and an Eggleston one-two were the headlines of the first Dunlop Series action of the year
2 mins by James Pavey
  • Kai Allen beats Cooper Murray in Practice 1

  • First Dunlop Series session of 2024 hit by two red flags

  • Zane Morse crashed across the top, Reuben Goodall at the Cutting

Crashes and an Eggleston Motorsport one-two were the key headlines of the first Dunlop Series action of the year, with Kai Allen beating Cooper Murray.

Allen, the defending Super2 champion, fired in a 2:07.5232s at the death to beat teammate Murray by just 0.0037s.

The session was punctuated by two red flags, first for an incident for Zane Morse (#11 Mustang) across the top, before Reuben Goodall (#20 Commodore) crashed at the Cutting.

As Allen set his fast lap, Mason Kelly crashed his #22 Mustang across the top on approach to McPhillamy Park. The team has since launched into repairs to get the car on track for the remainder of the weekend.

Under overcast skies, the first 10 minutes 50-minute session were reserved for rookies. Kelly was fastest on a 2:12.8480s before 2023 Super3 champion Jobe Stewart (#99 Commodore) recorded a 2:09.3520s.

Stewart fired in a 2:08.5450s and a 2:08.2500s as the rest of the field rolled out of pit lane, with Zach Bates (#25 Commodore) moving the benchmark to a 2:08.3644s.


Stewart returned to the top with a 2:07.9081s, before Bates improved to a 2:07.8110s. Then, Murray (#88 Commodore) laid down a 2:07.6282s before improving to a 2:07.5269s.

kelly bathurst 2024 crash 1

At the 23-minute mark, Morse — who was fourth — stopped on Conrod Straight with front-left damage to his #11 Mustang.

After a 10-minute stoppage, Allen set a 2:08.2563s and loomed to go quicker again, before the session was stopped again when Goodall struck trouble at the Cutting.

With four minutes remaining, the session resumed, and Allen, Murray and Bates all loomed to go to the top.

It was Allen with a 2:07.5232s — but only by 0.0037s — over Murray, with Bates, Stewart, Morse, Cameron Crick (#38 Commodore), Aaron Cameron (#27 Mustang), Jordyn Sinni (#54 Commodore), Max Vidau (#17 Mustang), and Lochie Dalton (#6 Mustang) rounding out the top 10.

Dunlop Series action will resume with Practice 2 at 3:25pm local time on Friday afternoon.

MySupercars+ Promo

Related News