Allen clinches Super2 title as Wood sweeps Adelaide

Dunlop Series
26 Nov
Ryan Wood sweeps Adelaide round as Kai Allen wins title by six points to become youngest ever Super2 champion
2 mins by James Pavey
  • Kai Allen becomes youngest ever Dunlop Super2 Series champion

  • Allen fifth in VAILO Adelaide 500 finale won by Ryan Wood

  • Eggleston rookie Allen beats Zak Best to title by six points

Kai Allen has become the youngest ever Dunlop Super2 Series champion after coming home in the VAILO Adelaide 500 finale won by Ryan Wood.

Allen needed a minimum finish of fourth to clinch the crown, having taken the points lead from Zak Best on Saturday. He came home fifth, letting teammate Cooper Murray through in the closing laps.

With Best second behind Wood, who claimed his fifth win of the season, Allen won the title by six points — the third closest margin of victory ever.

Andrew Jones won the 2004 title on a count back after finishing on a tie with Luke Youlden, while Tony D’Alberto beat Michael Caruso by five points in 2007.

Victorian driver Best, meanwhile, claimed an unwanted piece of history in becoming the first driver to finish runner-up in the Super2 Series three seasons in a row.

"Oh my god, that's unreal," said Allen, who made his Great Race debut last month.

"I left with nothing last year, and this one's mainly for the Eggleston crew, I felt so bad in 2022, we fought all year. To come back and win the Super2 championship in my first ever year, it's unreal.

"Massive thank you to everyone in the Eggleston Motorsport crew, all my supporters, mum and dad and my family, there's no way I'd be here without them."

Final lap: Wood wins Adelaide finale, Allen celebrates title

Best won the start and led for 13 corners, before Wood pounced at the final corner to steal the lead back. From there, the Walkinshaw Andretti United driver was in a league of his own.

Wood raced away and crossed the line to win by 4.7726s. The Kiwi teen added to his wins in Perth, Sandown and Saturday’s Adelaide opener to take his season tally to five, setting the tone for a bumper maiden main game season with WAU in 2024.

Cameron McLeod claimed Super3 honours in 16th overall, with champion-elect Jobe Stewart 17th and officially champion over Jett Johnson by 210 points.

Jay Hanson, Cameron Crick, Aaron Love, Jordan Boys and Aaron Cameron rounded out the top 10. Nash Morris, meanwhile, was forced into retirement after an incident at Turn 11.

Aaron Seton and Elly Morrow, who will step away from Super2 at the end of the season, finished 12th and 16th overall.

The 2024 Dunlop Series season will commence at the Thrifty Bathurst 500 on February 23-25.

Related News