All the winners from 2022 Gala Awards

05 Dec 2022
Holdsworth, Lowndes, Schenken honoured
2 mins by James Pavey

The 2022 Repco Supercars Championship season has been celebrated at the end-of-season Gala Awards.

The awards night was held at the Adelaide Oval following the weekend’s VALO Adelaide 500.

The retiring Lee Holdsworth took out the night’s biggest off-track honour, the Barry Sheene Medal.

Holdsworth was voted by the media as Supercars’ ‘best and fairest’ driver.

The other media-voted award, the Mike Kable Young Gun, went to Dunlop Super2 rookie Matt Payne.

Payne will replaced Holdsworth at Penrite Racing in 2023.

An emotional Holdsworth won the Barry Sheene Medal

Cam Waters received the driver-voted Drivers' Driver Award, marking recognition from his peer group.

Waters won the award for a second time, having first been recognised in 2020.

Shane van Gisbergen, the 2022 drivers’ champion, was also named Fans’ Choice Most Popular Driver.

Van Gisbergen also won the Fans’ Choice Most Popular Driver award in 2021.

The other fan-voted categories went to Red Bull Ampol Racing (Best Presented Team) and the VALO Adelaide 500 (Best Event).

Seven-time Bathurst winner Craig Lowndes was inducted into the Supercars Hall of Fame.

Lowndes and long-time Supercars Race Director Tim Schenken became the latest inductees.

Schenken retired from the role in 2021, and was succeeded by James Taylor.

All the winners: 2022 Supercars Gala Awards


Barry Sheene Medal: Lee Holdsworth, Penrite Racing

2022 Supercars Champion: Shane van Gisbergen, Red Bull Ampol Racing

Supercars Drivers’ Driver: Cam Waters, Tickford Racing

Dunlop Teams Championship: Red Bull Ampol Racing

2022 Supercars ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Cam Waters, Tickford Racing

Champion Manufacturer of the Year: Holden

Supercars Hall of Fame Inductees: Craig Lowndes and Tim Schenken

Fans’ Choice Most Popular Driver: Shane van Gisbergen, Red Bull Ampol Racing

Fans’ Choice Best Presented Team: Red Bull Ampol Racing

Fans’ Choice Best Event: VALO Adelaide 500

Best Volunteer Group: Repco Bathurst 1000

Media Award: Chad Neylon

Mike Kable Young Gun: Matt Payne, Grove Racing

2022 Dunlop Super2 Series Champion: Declan Fraser, Triple Eight Race Engineering

2022 Dunlop Super2 Series Teams Champion: Triple Eight Race Engineering

2022 Dunlop Super2 ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Declan Fraser, Triple Eight Race Engineering

Related News