Triple Eight reveals new number for Brown

29 Jan
Triple Eight has unveiled the new number that new driver Will Brown will carry in 2024
  • Will Brown will carry #87 in first Triple Eight season

  • Brown replaces Shane van Gisbergen, who raced #97 to great success

  • Broc Feeney will continue with team's iconic #88 for third year

Will Brown will carry a new number when he makes his Triple Eight Race Engineering debut in the 2024 Repco Supercars Championship.

From 2024, Brown will race with the #87 on his Red Bull Ampol Camaro, with the number a first for Triple Eight.

The new number was announced on Red Bull Ampol Racing's social accounts, a week out from the team's first Supercars test day of the year.

Brown signed with Triple Eight midway through last year, inking a deal to replace NASCAR-bound Shane van Gisbergen. Van Gisbergen raced with his trademark #97 with Triple Eight between 2016 and 2023, winning three championships and three Bathursts with the number.

Instead of retaining van Gisbergen’s #97, Triple Eight has brought in a new number for Brown, with Broc Feeney continuing with the team’s famous #88.

The #88 has been with Triple Eight since it took over Briggs Motor Sport 20 years ago, with Jamie Whincup winning three of his record four championships with the number.

The #87, meanwhile, was last seen at the 2002 Bathurst 1000, on an AU Falcon for Allan Grice's final Great Race start.

Triple Eight will reveal its 2024 livery at a launch event at Wellcamp Airport in Toowoomba on Saturday February 3 ahead of its pre-season test day at Queensland Raceway on Monday February 5.

“The team discussed the idea of having sequential race numbers for 2024 so both Red Bull Ampol Racing cars were always listed in number order," Team Principal Whincup explained.

"Obviously, #89 looks too similar to #88 on track and driving down pit lane, so we arrived at #87.

"We can’t wait to see Will represent the #87 Red Bull Ampol Racing Camaro into the future, and we’re equally excited for our 'Livery Landing' free public event in Toowoomba on February 3.”

Brown’s #87 is one of several number changes on the 2024, headlined by champion Brodie Kostecki assuming the #1 for his title defence.

brown 87 number 2024 2

Kostecki becomes the first driver since Whincup in 2018 to use the #1 in his championship defence, with the Erebus Motorsport driver winning his and his team’s first titles in 2023.

Last week, Matt Stone Racing confirmed it will ditch the #34 and #35 in favour of the #4 and #10, with Cameron Hill to race with the iconic #4, last used by Jack Smith at Brad Jones Racing. The #4 was famously raced to title glory by Marcos Ambrose and Stone Brothers Racing, which has strong ties to MSR.

Smith’s replacement, Jaxon Evans, is also set for a new number for his first full-time season. Smith had used the #4 since 2020, with Erebus moving on the number in 2016.

Tickford Racing, meanwhile, is set to retain the #6 for Cam Waters and #55 for Thomas Randle, meaning the team could be set to run without the #5 for the first time since it debuted as Ford Performance Racing in 2003.

Brown will make his Triple Eight debut at the Thrifty Bathurst 500 on February 23-25. Tickets for the event are on sale now.

Bathurst 500 House Ad

Related News