Eaton out of Perth Super2 field

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 29/04/2019
  • By

British driver Abbie Eaton will not contest the second round of the Dunlop Super2 Series this weekend at the PIRTEK Perth SuperNight.

Eaton made her debut in the class with Matt Stone Racing in Adelaide last month, in a one-off deal with a view to continuing.

However the 27-year-old has not been able to raise the funds for Round 2, with MSR scaling back to two cars for Ash Walsh and Joel Heinrich.

A best finish of 14th for Eaton came in the opening race of the campaign, followed by a DNF in Race 2 and 18th in Race 3.

Eaton has long held an ambition to race in Supercars, and completed tests with MSR and Walkinshaw Andretti United late last year before eventually securing an Adelaide drive.

She undertook a test day at Barbagallo in a Radical sportscar in late March as part of preparations for the race meeting, while she searched for budget.

Eaton's absence is the only change to the entry list from Adelaide, with 19 drivers heading to Barbagallo Wanneroo Raceway.

Justin Ruggier was another one-off competitor when the season got underway, but is continuing with Eggleston Motorsport in Perth.

Ruggier is ninth in the points, the best of the three Eggleston Holdens with Will Brown 13th and Dean Fiore 15th, the latter currently on a deal covering the first two events.

Bryce Fullwood leads the way for MW Motorsport, by 20 points over Brodie Kostecki with Zane Goddard third.

Dunlop Super2 Series running Perth starts on Thursday, with 26-lap twilight races scheduled for Friday and Saturday.

2019 Dunlop Super2 Series Perth entry list

# Team Driver Car
5 Tickford Racing Thomas Randle Falcon FG X
10 Triple Eight Brenton Grove Commodore VF
15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Commodore VF
16 MW Motorsport Bryce Fullwood Altima
18 Matt Chahda Motorsport Matt Chahda Falcon FG X
21 Brad Jones Racing Jack Smith Commodore VF
27 MW Motorsport Tyler Everingham Altima
28 MW Motorsport Zane Goddard Altima
35 Matt Stone Racing Ash Walsh Commodore VF
38 Eggleston Motorsport Will Brown Commodore VF
44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O'Keeffe Commodore VF
47 Matt Stone Racing Joel Heinrich Falcon FG X
49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Commodore VF
54 Eggleston Motorsport Dean Fiore Commodore VF
55 Triple Eight Kurt Kostecki Commodore VF
56 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Commodore VF
57 Kostecki Brothers Racing Brodie Kostecki Commodore VF
88 Eggleston Motorsport Justin Ruggier Commodore VF
99 Garry Rogers Motorsport Mason Barbera Commodore VF
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter