Poll: Which 2023 line-up is strongest?

23 Jan 2023
All 25 seats and 11 teams have been locked in
3 mins by James Pavey

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championships looms as one of the most competitive in recent memory after a silly season of little change.

The first season of the Gen3 era will feature a similar grid to 2022, with 20 of 25 seats unchanged year on year.

Of the 25 drivers on the grid, 15 have won races, and there are three rookies.

However, the three rookies will all be partnered by experienced teammates who have won races.

Red Bull Ampol Racing won the 2022 teams' title off the back of Shane van Gisbergen's dominant season.

However, Broc Feeney ended the season with a statement victory at the VALO Adelaide 500.

Will Davison and Anton De Pasquale also won races last year, and are eager to kick off Dick Johnson Racing's Gen3 era.

DJR has yet to hit its straps with Davison and De Pasquale

Triple Eight and DJR were the only two teams to have both drivers win a race last season.

Cam Waters (Tickford Racing) and Chaz Mostert (Walkinshaw Andretti United) were the other drivers to win races in 2023.

As the champions, Triple Eight will be the hunted, and van Gisbergen wants Feeney to go another level to keep the team on top. 

"It's been great working with Broc,” van Gisbergen said after winning the 2022 title.

"He's been getting better and better... it's been good to learn from him. With him getting faster and faster, hopefully we're pushing each other next year.

"Next year is going to be super important with the new car — we need to push each other to develop it.


"I'm glad he got a year in a well-sorted car before next year.”

What can SVG and Feeney do in 2023?

When it comes to decorated line-ups, Tickford is right up there.

Tickford now has three Super2 champions (Waters, Thomas Randle and Declan Fraser) and a Supercars champion (James Courtney) on its books.

WAU duo Mostert and Nick Percat are both Bathurst winners, and the latter has recently undergone driver coaching to sharpen his tools.

Penrite Racing has a resurgent David Reynolds and rookie Matt Payne for its second full season, having made major strides in 2022.

Erebus Motorsport is also unchanged with Will Brown and Brodie Kostecki, the latter finishing a career-best seventh overall last season.

Brad Jones Racing reached the podium with Andre Heimgartner in 2022, while Team 18 has signalled Gen3 as a "reset".

Then, there's PremiAir Racing, which has recruited Tim Slade alongside the impressive James Golding.

Matt Stone Racing has also paired established driver Jack Le Brocq with rookie Cameron Hill, the 2021 Porsche Carrera Cup champion.

Which 2023 line-up is strongest? Have your say in the poll below.

The poll has closed. Results below:

7534 responses

Related News