Larkham claims Supercars Media Award

24 Nov
Fan favourite Supercars television personality Mark Larkham has claimed this year's Supercars Media Award
2 mins by Supercars
  • Mark Larkham claims 2023 Supercars Media Award

  • 'Larko' first joined commentary team in 2006 after wrapping up racing career

  • Larkham was a driver and later team owner

Fan favourite Supercars television personality Mark Larkham has claimed this year’s Supercars Media Award.

It is the first time the popular analyst and pit lane reporter has won the title since joining the commentary team in 2006 after wrapping up a career as a driver and team owner.

Known for his ability to unravel and explain key technical aspects of motorsport to the Supercars television audience in a way like no other, Larkham excels his role, infusing it with a distinctive blend of concise yet passionate expertise and humour.

"I'm blown away, I had no idea," a shocked Larkham said on the broadcast.

He was surprised with the award live during broadcast of this weekend’s Repco Supercars Championship season finale, the VAILO Adelaide 500.

"I'm flattered, I'm humbled, I'm honoured... this is a team of people.

"This is very cool... if I put my hand on my heart, this one's for the fans, because they had my back a little while back.

"It gives me great personal joy and pleasure to know that they enjoy what we do."

Larkham becomes the 22nd different winner of the Supercars Media Award since its inception in 1999.


1999: Network Ten

2000: Michael Lynch

2001: Paul Gover

2002: V8X Magazine

2003: Ray Kershler

2004: Guy Hand

2005: Bruce Newton


2006: Gordon Lomas

2007: Stephen Ottley

2008: Jon Evans

2009: James Phelps

2010: Mark Horsburgh

2011: Ray Berghouse

2012: James Phelps

2013: The Daily and Sunday Telegraph

2014: Mark Fogarty

2015: James Phelps

2016: Jessica Yates

2017: Connor O’Brien

2018: Ian O’Brien

2019: Tom Howard

2021: Rich Walter

2022: Chad Neylon

2023: Mark Larkham

Supercars App

Related News