Everingham wins Townsville Super2 epic

09 Jul 2022
Safety Cars punctuate thrilling race
2 mins by James Pavey

Tyler Everingham has taken out a thrilling Dunlop Series race at the NTI Townsville 500.

MW Motorsport driver Everingham became the first repeat Super2 winner in 2022.

The Dubbo native defeated Tickford Racing’s Zak Best, who started from pole position.

  • Click here for Race 1 results

The race was shortened from 21 to 19 laps after Jaylyn Robotham was left stranded on the grid.

Two Safety Car periods further shortened the race, with just 13 laps clocked.

Matt Chahda completed the top three after a dive on Declan Fraser on the second restart.

The race was neutralised immediately after Angelo Mouzouris crashed at Turn 5.

Mouzouris blows tyre and goes head-on into wall

Mouzouris suffered damage after a Turn 2 clash with points leader Matt Payne, who finished 10th.

Everingham is now just 24 points behind Payne, with Fraser a further 18 points behind.


Everingham, Fraser, Cameron Hill, Best, Robotham and Thomas Maxwell are all within a race of Payne.

Everingham beat Best off the line and led through Turn 1.

Best nudged Everingham at the final corner at the lap 7 restart, and the leaders set about creating a gap.

However, the Safety Car was brought out on the following lap after Steven Page found the Turn 11 barriers.

Chahda made a dive on Fraser on the restart at Turn 2, and set off after the leaders.

However, officials called the race early, with Everingham completing 13 laps.

Aaron Seton, Hill, Tim Blanchard, Zane Morse, Jay Hanson and Payne rounded out the top 10.

Brad Vaughan claimed Super3 honours, having overtaken Kai Allen after the first restart.

Cars will return on Sunday for qualifying at 9:25am local time.

The second and final Dunlop Series race will commence at 1:25pm.

Related News