Down, Kostecki win Eseries titles

24 Aug 2022
BJR driver Down wins $10,000
2 mins by James Pavey

Madison Down and Brodie Kostecki have taken home this year’s Cash Converters Supercars Eseries titles.

Third at Oran Park was enough for Down to clinch the Pro Series title.

It was Brad Jones Racing’s first Eseries crown, with outgoing champion Dayne Warren winning the race.

Down finished third behind Jordan Caruso, with Jake Burton enduring a tough race.

Earlier, Kostecki went back-to-back in the All Stars category with victory.

The Erebus Motorsport driver won from pole in the 22-lapper ahead of Reuben Goodall.

Race 6 Highlights All Stars Eseries - Oran Park

Kostecki led from pole from Brad Vaughan and Justin Ruggier.

Ruggier’s title charge took a major hit when he pitted on lap 4 with a smoking car.

All the while Kostecki opened up a 8.1s gap on Vaughan by the time he stopped.

Kostecki lost time due to a slow stop, and emerged 1.3s ahead of Vaughan.


Vaughan was overhauled by Goodall late on, with Kostecki taking victory by 3.2s.

Vaughan was third ahead of Aaron Borg, Jordan Boys and Ruggier, who recovered to sixth.

Race 6 Highlights Pro Eseries - Oran Park

Warren led away from pole in the Pro Series race from Caruso.

Burton struck trouble on the opening lap entering the bridge, with his race unravelling immediately.

Further clashes ensured Burton was unable to take the title away from teammate Down.

Jarrad Filsell’s title hopes also fell away after he picked up dual five-second penalties.

Warren stopped on lap 9 and retained the lead through the pit cycle.

Down crossed the line behind Warren and Caruso, which was more than enough to take home the $10,000 cash prize.

Supercars will return to New Zealand on September 9-11. Purchase your ITM Auckland SuperSprint tickets now.

Biggest Eseries moments from 2022 finale

Related News