Third-generation Seton secures MSR co-drive

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 04/07/2022
  • By James Pavey

The famous Seton name will once again grace Mount Panorama, with Aaron Seton inking a co-drive deal with Matt Stone Racing.

Third-generation driver Seton, who races for MSR in Super2, will make his Great Race debut in October.

Seton will share the #34 Truck Assist Commodore with Jack Le Brocq at the October 6-9 Repco Bathurst 1000.

It will be the first Bathurst since 2010 to feature a Seton, with Aaron’s father Glenn steering a Kelly Racing Holden.

Aaron will be the third Seton, after father Glenn and grandfather Barry, to race in Bathurst.

Barry ‘Bo’ Seton won the 1965 Armstrong 500, having made his debut in 1963.

Glenn, the 1993 and 1997 ATCC champion, made his Bathurst debut in 1983.

Glenn scored four Bathurst podiums, three times finishing second.

Aaron has three Bathurst 12 hour starts, highlighted by a GT4 class win in 2018, to his name.

His most recent Super2 start at Mount Panorama resulted in third place, so far his best Super2 result.

"I am very thankful to the team, from Matt, Jason [Gomersall], and the whole crew," Seton said.

"I’m just looking forward to getting to the 1000.

"It’s awesome to be joining a guy like Jack and I really admire the way he has gone about his racing this year since working closer with him."

Seton will complete double duties in Bathurst, dovetailing his co-drive with his Super2 duties.

Seton is eighth in the Super2 standings heading to this weekend’s round in Townsville.

Le Brocq says the double duties can only help Seton.

The duo will complete at least one test day together at Queensland Raceway ahead of October’s race.

"It’s great that Aaron’s actually running in the Dunlop Series as well over the Bathurst weekend," Le Brocq said.

"I’ve done it many times before when I was a co-driver and it’s really crucial to just get those laps in around there.

"It’s a very daunting place at the best of times and it will be very full on.

"For Aaron to be able to compliment his running with his Dunlop Series program will allow us to get the most out of him come Sunday."

The team is expected to announce Todd Hazelwood’s co-driver for the #35 entry in the coming weeks.

Tickets for this year's Repco Bathurst 1000 are on sale now.

2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 combinations

Driver/Co-driver Team
Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup Red Bull Ampol Racing
Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander Red Bull Ampol Racing
Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto Shell V-Power Racing Team
Will Davison/Alex Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team
James Courtney/Zane Goddard Tickford Racing
Cam Waters/James Moffat Tickford Racing
Thomas Randle/Zak Best Tickford Racing
Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki Tickford Racing
TBA/Warren Luff Walkinshaw Andretti United
TBA/Fabian Coulthard Walkinshaw Andretti United
Will Brown/Jack Perkins Erebus Motorsport
Brodie Kostecki/David Russell Erebus Motorsport
TBA/Michael Caruso Team 18
TBA/James Golding Team 18
Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard CoolDrive Racing
David Reynolds/Matt Payne Penrite Racing
Lee Holdsworth/Matt Campbell Penrite Racing
Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood Brad Jones Racing
Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore Brad Jones Racing
Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys Brad Jones Racing
Jack Smith/TBA Brad Jones Racing
Chris Pither/TBA PremiAir Racing
TBA/TBA PremiAir Racing
Jack Le Brocq/Aaron Seton Matt Stone Racing
Todd Hazelwood/TBA Matt Stone Racing
Craig Lowndes/Declan Fraser Triple Eight (wildcard)
Richie Stanaway/Greg Murphy Erebus Motorsport (wildcard)
Matt Chahda/TBA Matt Chahda Motorsport (wildcard)
TBA/TBA Anderson Motorsport (wildcard)
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter