The contenders to replace retiring Whincup in 2022

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 29/04/2021
  • By Charlie Bullis, James Pavey

One of the most coveted seats on the grid is up for grabs for 2022, with Jamie Whincup retiring from full-time driving and stepping into a management role at Triple Eight.

Although a desirable proposition for many, filling the boots of a seven-time champion won’t be an easy task; Whincup has already hit the top step this season, winning in Tasmania.


A front-runner is Triple Eight Super2 young gun Broc Feeney, who is also competing for the team in Hyundai Excels, and was recently announced as van Gisbergen's replacement in the team’s GT World Challenge Australia entry.

October’s Repco Bathurst 1000 will mark another key career moment for the teenage ace, with Feeney to partner with two-time Great Race winner Russell Ingall in a Supercheap Auto-backed, Triple Eight-prepared wildcard entry.

With speculation of Shane van Gisbergen’s new running mate likely to continue throughout the season, Tickford Racing driver Cameron Waters believes Feeney is leading the race.

“Broc Feeney is at the front really,” Waters told

“He’s doing a lot with Triple Eight in all their different cars and as a wildcard as well.”

Feeney (#888) en route to Super2 victory in February

While ruling himself out of a switch to the Red Bull Ampol Racing seat, Waters, who is currently on a multi-year deal with Tickford, commented on rumours his former teammate Chaz Mostert could be a possibility.

“Everyone says Chaz but I’m not really sure that’s going to happen,” Waters said.

Mostert delivered his first win for Walkinshaw Andretti United at Symmons Plains earlier this month, having shifted from Tickford ahead of the 2020 season.


Other possibilities in the current field include Brad Jones Racing’s Nick Percat, who is currently in his fifth season with the Albury-based team and continues to bring home top 10 results.

Andre Heimgartner, who is still only 25 years old, continues to improve, and is the same age van Gisbergen was when he signed with Triple Eight in 2016.

The Kelly Grove Racing driver netted two second-place finishes and a maiden pole position in 2020.

Heimgartner impressed in 2020

BJR young gun and 2017 Super2 champion Todd Hazelwood could be another option.

Hazelwood has already ticked off some major career goals, having scored a maiden podium and pole in 2020.

2019 Formula Ford champion Angelo Mouzouris is already in the Triple Eight fold for his second Super2 season.

Van Gisbergen’s Bathurst-winning co-driver Garth Tander holds an outside chance of occupying the seat, and could give the team an extra year to blood one of its two Super2 drivers.

Whincup has already hit the top step in 2021

Waters also added he wouldn’t rule out a possible international candidate.

“I think maybe an international, thinking outside the square,” Waters said.

“Roland’s always loved international drivers so maybe it’s someone we haven’t even thought about.”

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to The Bend Motorsport Park for the OTR SuperSprint across May 7-9. Tickets are on sale now.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo with highlights on 7 and 7 Plus.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter