Taz Douglas returns for enduros

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 05/09/2017
  • By Stefan Bartholomaeus

Taz Douglas will return to Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport for the 2017 PIRTEK Enduro Cup, alongside Aaren Russell.

Douglas was the primary driver of the #3 Holden for the first four events of this season before a succession of others were rotated through the car.

The Wilson Security Sandown 500 will mark Douglas' first enduro since 2015, where he shared a Nissan Altima with James Moffat.

Douglas is only currently confirmed for Sandown but is thought likely to start all three of the enduro events.

“I’m really excited to be part of the team again,” the 33-year-old said.

“I’ve competed with the team earlier in the season, and I’m grateful for the opportunity.”

Douglas is testing today with LDM at Winton alongside Russell and the #62 pairing Alex Rullo and Alex Davison.

LDM and Mobil 1 HSV Racing have pressed on with their plan to test despite showers being forecast for the afternoon.

The wet forecast saw Brad Jones Racing, Prodrive and Preston Hire Racing all elect to postpone their planned running.

Douglas effectively completes the driver line-up ahead of the September 15-17 Wilson Security Sandown 500.

Jonathon Webb is yet to officially announce his place but will continue preparation tomorrow at Tekno Autosports' Ipswich test.

2017 PIRTEK Enduro Cup line-up

2Mobil 1 HSV RacingScott PyeWarren LuffHolden
3LD MotorsportAaren RussellTaz DouglasHolden
5The Bottle-O Racing TeamMark WinterbottomDean CantoFord
6Monster Energy RacingCameron WatersRichie StanawayFord
7carsales RacingTodd KellyJack Le BrocqNissan
8Brad Jones RacingNick PercatMacauley JonesHolden
9Erebus Penrite RacingDavid ReynoldsLuke YouldenHolden
12Shell V-Power Racing TeamFabian CoulthardTony D'AlbertoFord
14Freightliner RacingTim SladeAsh WalshHolden
15Sengled RacingRick KellyDavid WallNissan
17Shell V-Power Racing TeamScott McLaughlinAlex PrematFord
18Preston Hire RacingLee HoldsworthKarl ReindlerHolden
19TEKNO Woodstock RacingWill DavisonJonathon Webb*Holden
21Team CoolDriveTim BlanchardTodd HazelwoodHolden
22Mobil 1 HSV RacingJames CourtneyJack PerkinsHolden
23Nissan MotorsportMichael CarusoDean FioreNissan
33Wilson Security Racing GRMGarth TanderJames GoldingHolden
34Wilson Security Racing GRMJames MoffatRichard MuscatHolden
55Supercheap Auto RacingChaz MostertSteve OwenFord
56MEGA RacingJason BrightGarry JacobsonFord
62LD MotorsportAlex RulloAlex DavisonHolden
78Team Harvey NormanSimona De SilvestroDavid RussellNissan
88Red Bull Holden Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupPaul DumbrellHolden
97Red Bull Holden Racing AustraliaShane van GisbergenMatt CampbellHolden
99Erebus GB Galvanizing RacingDale WoodChris PitherHolden
888TeamVortexCraig LowndesSteven RichardsHolden

*Scheduled to drive but yet to be announced

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter