Super2 150: The most successful drivers

29 Jun
Several drivers made it big in Super2's first 149 rounds
2 mins by James Pavey

The Dunlop Super2 Series has hosted some talented drivers over the years, many going on to great things in Supercars and beyond.

Super2’s 150th round in Townsville will be a celebration of the category’s finest, and some drivers own remarkable records.

In the 23-year history of the series, just 10 drivers have won more than 10 races — but one stands out.

Paul Dumbrell, who won titles in 2002 and 2014, enjoyed success in Super2 at both ends of his career.

Dumbrell, who won the 2012 Bathurst 1000 with Jamie Whincup, won the 2002 crown with Independent Race Cars.

150 rounds: Celebrating Super2's champions

He returned following his main game retirement in 2011, and duly won a second crown with Eggleston Motorsport in 2014.

Dumbrell’s numbers are unrivalled; he won 41 races, 16 rounds, and claimed 14 poles — all records.

Dumbrell is one of three two-time Super2 champions along with Dean Canto and Steve Owen.

Canto — who won 21 races and nine rounds — won the very first title in 2000, and added another with Dick Johnson Racing in 2005.

Owen — who won 20 races and 10 rounds — meanwhile, returned to the development series in 2008 and won the title on his first attempt, before adding another in 2010.

Waters dominated in 2015

The exploits of Andrew Thompson can’t go unnoticed — he won races with MW Motorsport, and won the 2011 title in a canter with Triple Eight.


Thompson’s 2011 title set a record that stands today — he won six of the seven rounds. He also won 11 of the 17 races; only Dumbrell (12 from 15 in 2002) won more races in a season.

Current Tickford Racing star Cam Waters’ run in 2014 and 2015 with the team was as good as any, ending in the 2015 title.

Waters won 12 races and five rounds — 10 race wins and four round wins came in his dominant 2015 campaign, which led to a full-time Supercars seat with the Ford team.

Most Super2 race wins

41: Paul Dumbrell21: Dean Canto20: Steve Owen16: Andrew Thompson13: Owen Kelly12: Adam Macrow, Cam Waters

Most Super2 round wins

16: Paul Dumbrell10: Steve Owen9: Dean Canto8: Andrew Thompson7: Adam Macrow5: Cam Waters

Most Super2 poles

14: Paul Dumbrell, Steve Owen9: Dean Canto, Cam Waters, Andrew Thompson8: Chris Pither7: Chaz Mostert, Garry Jacobson6: Jack Le Brocq, Thomas Randle

Most Super2 titles

2: Dean Canto, Paul Dumbrell, Steve Owen

Statistics correct to 2023 Bosch Power Tools Perth SuperSprint

Related News