Every team's first Supercars race win

25 Jun
Team 18 and MSR joined the winners' list in Darwin

Team 18 and Matt Stone Racing joined the Supercars winners’ list at the betr Darwin Triple Crown, making history in the process.

Mark Winterbottom won Race 13 to secure Team 18’s first win in 333 attempts.

A day later, Jack Le Brocq led Race 15 from wire-to-wire to end MSR’s 172-race wait for victory No. 1.

Of the 11 teams on the grid, nine have now won a Supercars race. Nine teams have now also scored a podium in 2023 after just 15 races.

The two teams left to crack the top step — and also the podium — are Blanchard Racing Team and Nulon Racing.

Both teams are the youngest in Supercars, BRT debuting on its own in 2021 before PremiAir Racing took over Team Sydney in 2022.

Dick Johnson Racing

Dick Johnson, Symmons Plains 1981

Races taken to win: 1

New book to chronicle Dick Johnson Racing cars Open Graph Image

The first of 147 championship race wins — all in Fords — came 42 years ago, with Johnson scoring victory in Tasmania. Johnson went on to win the championship and the Bathurst 1000.

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Peter Brock, Eastern Creek 1994

Races taken to win: 67

WAU began life as the Holden Racing Team in 1990, and the team won the Bathurst 1000 in its very first year. However, the team had to wait four years until its first championship race win, courtesy of the late Peter Brock in 1994. The team currently has 188 wins, all with Holden.

Tickford Racing

Craig Lowndes, Phillip Island 2003

Races taken to win: 2

The team began life as Ford Performance Racing in 2003 after taking over Glenn Seton Racing, and it hit the front almost immediately as Lowndes won a rain-shortened race at Phillip Island. The team currently has 81 wins, the latest coming courtesy of Cam Waters in Newcastle in March.

Triple Eight Race Engineering

Craig Lowndes, Eastern Creek 2005

Races taken to win: 45


A General Motors powerhouse since 2010, Triple Eight's first of a record 248 wins came with the Blue Oval in 2005. After buying out Briggs Motor Sport in 2003, Triple Eight needed two years to win its first race — and has been winning ever since.

Grove Racing

Rick Kelly, Hamilton 2011

Races taken to win: 57

Kelly Racing debuted in 2009, became Kelly Grove Racing in 2021, and Grove Racing in 2022. Win No. 1 came in 2011 courtesy of Rick Kelly in New Zealand in 2011, with brother Todd also on the podium. The team has won in Holdens, Nissans and Fords.

Brad Jones Racing

Jason Bright, Perth 2011

Races taken to win: 337

BJR had to wait a long time for its first win, and it came in trying circumstances after the sister car of Karl Reindler went up in flames in a shocking crash. Bright, who joined the team in 2010, delivered in Perth a year later and later won again at Winton. To date, BJR has 14 wins.

Erebus Motorsport

Lee Holdsworth, Winton 2014

Races taken to win: 44

The form team in 2023, Erebus began life as a Mercedes-AMG squad in 2013 born out of Stone Brothers Racing. Holdsworth’s Winton breakthrough in 2014 was a big moment for Betty Klimenko, whose squad has won with Mercedes, Holden and Chevrolet.

Team 18Mark Winterbottom, Darwin 2023Races taken to win: 333

Last lap: Winterbottom beats Feeney by 0.4s

Winterbottom was desperate to deliver for Schwerkolt after joining in 2019, but it took four years. Regardless, the win still arrived, Winterbottom holding off Broc Feeney to win a Darwin thriller.

Matt Stone Racing

Jack Le Brocq, Darwin 2023

Races taken to win: 172

A day later, MSR snapped its own streak as Le Brocq powered to victory from pole in Race 15. MSR joined the main game full-time in 2018, a year after Todd Hazelwood won the 2017 title for the team.

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championship will resume at the NTI Townsville 500 on July 7-9. Tickets are on sale now.

Related News