Who will join the winners list in 2021?

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 20/01/2021
  • By James Pavey

The 2021 Repco Supercars Championship grid features 14 race winners, with 10 drivers yet to take the chequered flag first.

The 14 winners combine for 278 race victories, with Jamie Whincup representing 44 per cent of that haul.

Following his Race 1 victory in Adelaide last year, Whincup became the winningest Holden driver in ATCC/Supercars history with 86. He ended 2020 with 122 career wins, 89 of them coming in Commodores.

Whincup has more than three times as many wins as the next driver on the list, Red Bull Ampol Racing team-mate Shane van Gisbergen.

Van Gisbergen also won four races in 2020, including the season-ending Bathurst 1000.

The Bathurst breakthrough was his 29th win for Triple Eight since he joined in 2016, when he won in just his fourth start for the team. He previously won two races for Stone Brothers Racing in 2011, and nine races for Tekno Autosports between 2013 and 2015.

Third on the list is 2015 series champion Mark Winterbottom, who claimed all 38 of his career wins with Tickford Racing (formerly known as Ford Performance Racing and Prodrive Racing Australia) between 2006 and 2016.

It's both impressive and disappointing for Winterbottom; it shows how strong he was for the Ford team, but over four years have passed since his last victory, which came at Pukekohe.

Such has been the Team 18 veteran's wait, that Winterbottom currently holds the fourth-longest winless streak of active drivers who have won a race.

Four other drivers (Will Davison, James Courtney, Fabian Coulthard and Chaz Mostert) have recorded wins in double figures.

Who can join them in 2021?

Supercars.com predicted that there will be at least one new winner in the upcoming season.

It was also the case in 2020, with Jack Le Brocq and Anton De Pasquale claiming maiden championship wins in Sydney and Darwin respectively.

Le Brocq's win came in his 85th career start, with De Pasquale's maiden victory coming in his 70th career start.

Of the 10 different drivers who haven't won a race, Kelly Racing's Andre Heimgartner looms as the most likely following a breakout 2020 with the Ford team.

The team has made no secret to improve following new investment by the Grove Group, with Heimgartner showing glimpses of brilliance in 2020.

Still aged just 25, the Kiwi collected a maiden pole in Sydney and followed it up with a podium, and added another podium at The Bend.

Last year, Todd Hazelwood and Bryce Fullwood recorded maiden podiums in their first seasons with Brad Jones Racing and Walkinshaw Andretti United respectively.

Hazelwood is the more experienced of the two, and is closing on 100 career starts and 50 career rounds in 2021, four years on from his main game debut.

Both Hazelwood and Fullwood are no strangers to winning, both drivers having clinched Dunlop Super2 Series titles in 2017 and 2019 respectively.

Race winners on 2021 grid

122: Jamie Whincup (523 starts)
40: Shane van Gisbergen (418 starts)
38: Mark Winterbottom (528 starts)
19: Will Davison (453 starts)
15: James Courtney (463 starts)
13: Fabian Coulthard (440 starts)
13: Chaz Mostert (231 starts)
7: David Reynolds (345 starts)
4: Nick Percat (223 starts)
2: Tim Slade (334 starts)
2: Cameron Waters (158 starts)
1: Scott Pye (249 starts)
1: Jack Le Brocq (105 starts)
1: Anton de Pasquale (89 starts)

2021 drivers yet to win

Andre Heimgartner (152 starts)
Todd Hazelwood (94 starts)
Macauley Jones (81 starts)
Garry Jacobson (66 starts)
Bryce Fullwood (36 starts)
Jack Smith (40 starts)
Jake Kostecki (18 starts)
Zane Goddard (15 starts)
Will Brown (10 starts)
Brodie Kostecki (6 starts)

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter