Roll call: Winning drivers who tamed Townsville

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 01/07/2021
  • By James Pavey

Seven winners from 29 races.

It's a small yet illustrious group of drivers who have survived Townsville's concrete canyon of a street circuit to win at Reid Park.

The venue of the upcoming NTI Townsville 500 has proven a difficult battleground to overcome.

Not for Jamie Whincup, however, who owns an imposing record at the circuit.

Whincup won the very first race in Townsville in 2009, and added 11 more in the following 28 races.

Of the winning seven, just five had won more than one race in Townsville.

Current championship leader Shane van Gisbergen is next best with five wins, ahead of Scott McLaughlin (four).

Whincup, van Gisbergen and McLaughlin shared the six wins across last year's Townsville doubleheader.

Whincup won the first two races of the first event, McLaughlin won the finale and the first of the second event, before van Gisbergen cleaned up on the Sunday, his last win coming from 12th.

In fact, the last driver to win in Townsville outside this trio was Mark Winterbottom, who swept the 2015 event en route to his championship win.

A year earlier, Garth Tander won the second race of the 2014 event from 11th on the grid, which was, until last year, the lowest grid spot for a winner.

Can an eighth driver add their name to the Townsville winners' list?

Townsville championship race winners (drivers)

12: Jamie Whincup
5: Shane van Gisbergen
4: Scott McLaughlin
3: Mark Winterbottom, Garth Tander
1: James Courtney, Will Davison

Townsville championship race winners (cars)

19: Holden
10: Ford

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter