Roll call: Dick Johnson Racing winners

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 25/01/2021
  • By James Pavey

In 2021, Anton De Pasquale will be looking to join a decorated list of drivers who have won for Dick Johnson Racing.

De Pasquale shifts from Erebus Motorsport to DJR, which welcomes an all-new driver line-up following the departures of Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard.

McLaughlin and Coulthard helped DJR, under its former DJR Team Penske guise, to its most dominant era since its 1980 debut.

Between 2017 and 2020, McLaughlin and Coulthard combined for 56 wins and 62 pole positions.

However, it was the all-conquering McLaughlin who recorded the biggest numbers, claiming a team record 48 wins and 59 pole positions en route to a hat-trick of titles between 2018 and 2020.

McLaughlin is one of 11 drivers who has won a championship race for DJR, with the team third overall for championship race wins.

The IndyCar-bound New Zealander also claimed the team's 100th championship win in 2018 in Darwin.

Coulthard won eight races with DJR, as many as countryman Paul Radisich. James Courtney won seven, including five in his historic campaign in 2010.

That 2010 season also featured a win at Sydney Olympic Park for Jonathon Webb, whose Tekno Autosport operation ran out the DJR stable.

Frenchman Alex Premat helped McLaughlin to two enduro wins (Gold Coast 2017 and Bathurst 2019), with a fresh-faced Chaz Mostert scoring a remarkable win for the team at Queensland Raceway in 2013.

Of the 11 winners, four won championships with DJR: Johnson (1981-82, 1984, 1988-89), Bowe (1995), Courtney (2010) and McLaughlin (2018-20).

Johnson won his eponymous team's first championship race at Symmons Plains in 1980, and won 30 overall, as many for the team as long-time team-mate John Bowe.

Johnson's son Steven won three races for DJR, one of them alongside Kiwi Radisich at the 2001 Queensland 500.

That remained the team's most recent triumph to 2008 until Will Davison claimed his maiden championship race win and DJR's first victory in seven years.

Two-time Bathurst winner Davison forms the other half of DJR's all-new line-up for 2021, having raced for the team on a full-time basis between 2006 and 2008.

Davison and De Pasquale both arrive at DJR as race winners, with Davison a 19-time winner and De Pasquale having scored his first win at Hidden Valley last year.

The next milestone in DJR's sights is 150 wins, with the Ford team entering the 2021 season on 137.

Only Triple Eight (203) and Walkinshaw Andretti United (180) have reached the milestone.

Dick Johnson Racing championship race winners

48: Scott McLaughlin
30: Dick Johnson, John Bowe
8: Fabian Coulthard, Paul Radisich
7: James Courtney
3: Steven Johnson
2: Will Davison, Alex Premat
1: Jonathan Webb, Chaz Mostert

Championship race wins (current teams)

203: Triple Eight Race Engineering
180: Walkinshaw Andretti United/Holden Racing Team
137: Dick Johnson Racing
74: Tickford Racing/Prodrive Racing Australia/Ford Performance Racing
14: Brad Jones Racing
11: Team Sydney/Tekno Autosports
7: Erebus Motorsport
6: Kelly Racing/Nissan Motorsport

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter