Extreme long shots: Podiums from low grid positions

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 17/09/2021
  • By James Pavey

Twice in 2021 has series leader Shane van Gisbergen claimed a podium finish from a lowly grid position.

Most recently, he raced from 13th to third in the second OTR SuperSprint race, which featured a first-lap tangle.

However, no one will forget his remarkable charge from 17th at Sandown - with a broken collarbone - to win.

Of the 24 full-time drivers on the grid, 17 have claimed podium finishes.

Of the 17, 14 have raced into the top three from 10th or lower on the grid.

Van Gisbergen heads the list, having claimed podiums from 10th or lower a whopping 14 times.

Three of the 14 have been wins: his Darwin breakthrough in 2011, from 12th in Townsville last year, and Sandown in March.

Seven of the 14 drivers have won from 10th or lower. The honour of the lowest-winning spot for active drivers is Chaz Mostert, who launched from 25th to win the 2014 Bathurst 1000

Van Gisbergen's third career top 10 finish came from 14th

Jamie Whincup has claimed a record 231 podium finishes, but on only four occasions has he raced from outside the top 10 to the top three.

His very first career podium, at the 2005 Sandown 500 for Tasman Motorsport, came after Whincup and the late Jason Richards started 13th.

He also won from 20th in the 2007 Winton opener, but his overall round win (main image) counts as his podium.

Former series champions James Courtney and Mark Winterbottom have both claimed top-three finishes from 10th or lower 10 times.

Courtney's Bathurst podium came from 11th

Both drivers have also won from 10th or lower twice - but both drivers haven’t won a race since 2016.

For reference, Craig Lowndes raced into the top three from 10th or lower 20 times, his first instance his run from 10th to first in Canberra in 2000.

Mark Skaife did it 12 times, famously winning from 38th (Adelaide 2000) and 30th (Oran Park 2006).

Scott McLaughlin did it three times, and two of them were wins - from 13th on the Gold Coast (2017) and 19th in Perth (2018)

Active drivers to have finished in the top three from 10th or lower

Shane van Gisbergen: 14 times
14th to 3rd, Bahrain 2010
10th to 3rd, Darwin 2010
13th to 3rd, Gold Coast 2010
14th to 3rd, Homebush 2010
12th to 1st, Darwin 2011
17th to 3rd, Homebush 2011
11th to 2nd, Phillip Island 2012
21st to 3rd, Townsville 2013
12th to 3rd, Perth 2018
14th to 3rd, Winton 2018
11th to 2nd, Sandown 2018
12th to 1st, Townsville 2020
17th to 1st, Sandown 2021
13th to 3rd, Tailem Bend 2021

James Courtney: 10 times
27th to 3rd, Ipswich 2006
11th to 3rd, Bathurst 2006
16th to 2nd, Adelaide 2010
13th to 3rd, Homebush 2012
15th to 1st, Adelaide 2014
16th to 2nd, Townsville 2015
11th to 1st, Gold Coast 2015
12th to 2nd, Townsville 2016
10th to 3rd, Gold Coast 2018
18th to 3rd, Bathurst 2019

Mark Winterbottom: 10 times
24th to 3rd, Pukekohe 2006
10th to 2nd, Sydney Motorsport Park 2008
20th to 2nd, Winton 2008
17th to 3rd, Gold Coast 2011
14th to 1st, Homebush 2011
16th to 2nd, Sandown 2012
14th to 3rd, Gold Coast 2013
10th to 1st, Darwin 2014
14th to 2nd, Bathurst 2015
10th to 2nd, Winton 2016

Jamie Whincup: 4 times
13th to 3rd, Sandown 2005
20th to 1st, Winton 2007
19th to 3rd, Sandown 2012
10th to 1st, Townsville 2014

Fabian Coulthard: 4 times
11th to 2nd, Winton 2013
16th to 2nd, Gold Coast 2013
24th to 3rd, Perth 2015
10th to 2nd, Sydney Motorsport Park 2015

Nick Percat: 3 times
11th to 3rd, Bathurst 2014
15th to 1st, Adelaide 2016
22nd to 3rd, Bathurst 2016

Scott Pye: 3 times
20th to 2nd, Bathurst 2017
18th to 2nd, Bathurst 2018
10th to 3rd, Darwin 2020

Will Davison: 2 times
10th to 3rd, Sandown 2016
17th to 1st, Bathurst 2016

Chaz Mostert: 2 times
11th to 2nd, Sydney Motorsport Park 2014
25th to 1st, Bathurst 2014

David Reynolds: 2 times
11th to 3rd, Phillip Island 2017
12th to 3rd, Tailem Bend 2018

Tim Slade: 1 time
15th to 3rd, Newcastle 2017

Cameron Waters: 1 time
14th to 2nd, Gold Coast 2017

Todd Hazelwood: 1 time
12th to 3rd, Sydney Motorsport Park 2020

Bryce Fullwood: 1 time
13th to 3rd, Tailem Bend 2020

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter