Davison's record Darwin pace: speed breakdown

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 23/06/2021
  • By James Pavey

The new Dunlop Super Soft tyre made its debut in Darwin, and Will Davison was the fast man with two scorching ARMOR ALL Pole Position laps on Sunday.

On Saturday, Scott McLaughlin's 2019 lap record was pipped by Anton De Pasquale and Mark Winterbottom in the shootout to determine the Race 12 grid.

Davison returned on Sunday to wipe 0.24s off his Shell V-Power Racing Team teammate's time, before becoming the first Supercars driver to record a 1:04s lap in Race 14 qualifying.

It marked Davison's first poles since Sydney Olympic Park in 2014, and extended the Shell Ford team's hold on qualifying.

Shell Mustangs have claimed the last five ARMOR ALL Poles dating back to last month's OTR SuperSprint.

The new tyre, however, wasn't pushed as hard in the races; no driver managed to toppled Nick Percat's 2018 race lap record of a 1:06.5590s.

Chaz Mostert came closest, setting a 1:06.9171s en route to fourth in Sunday's morning race.

Mostert's Race 12 charge to victory also included the third quickest race lap of the weekend, with Shane van Gisbergen taking home the bonus points in Saturday's race.

Van Gisbergen clocked a 1:06.9399s on lap 12 of Race 12 prior to his stop. He would, however, finish 13th following a bungled stop.

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to North Queensland for the NTI Townsville 500 across July 9-11. Tickets are available here.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo, and will be broadcast live and free on Seven.

Fastest practice laps

Session Driver Time
P2 Jamie Whincup 1:05.879
P2 Scott Pye 1:06.009
P2 Anton De Pasquale 1:06.039
P2 Nick Percat 1:06.062
P2 Will Davison 1:06.123
P2 Chaz Mostert 1:06.132
P2 Shane van Gisbergen 1:06.145
P2 Mark Winterbottom 1:06.165
P1 Nick Percat 1:06.169
P2 James Courtney 1:06.197

Fastest qualifying laps

Session Driver Time
Q14 Will Davison 1:04.955
Q13 Will Davison 1:05.057
Q14 Shane van Gisbergen 1:05.073
Q14 Anton De Pasquale 1:05.087
Q14 Jamie Whincup 1:05.224
Q14 James Courtney 1:05.243
Q14 Scott Pye 1:05.267
Q14 Nick Percat 1:05.275
Q12 Anton De Pasquale 1:05.290
Q14 Mark Winterbottom 1:05.306

Fastest race laps

Session Driver Time
R13 Chaz Mostert 1:06.917 (lap 12)
R12 Shane van Gisbergen 1:06.939 (lap 12)
R12 Chaz Mostert 1:07.055 (lap 22)
R13 Tim Slade 1:07.084 (lap 18)
R13 Shane van Gisbergen 1:07.101 (lap 8)
R14 Will Brown 1:07.190 (lap 7)
R12 Scott Pye 1:07.191 (lap 12)
R13 James Courtney 1:07.213 (lap 12)
R13 Scott Pye 1:07.221 (lap 30)
R12 Cameron Waters 1:07.229 (lap 29)
Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter