10 stats that mattered in season 2021

31 Dec 2021
10 stats that mattered in the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship

The 2021 Repco Supercars Championship was one for the record books, with Shane van Gisbergen scoring overall glory.

The season featured 30 races across 12 rounds between February and December, with Bathurst opening and closing the season.

  • Top 10 Supercars races of 2021

  • Top 10 performances of 2021

  • Top 10 Supercars stories of 2021

  • Top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021

In the end, no driver could hold a candle to van Gisbergen, who secured a second drivers' title with one round remaining.

In the wake of a busy year, Supercars.com has highlighted 10 key statistics which helped shape the 2021 season.

14) Van Gisbergen won 14 of the season's 30 races. He became just the sixth driver to win 14 or more races in a single season.

It marked an increase on his previous best season of eight wins, which he recorded in his 2016 title triumph.

54) Van Gisbergen ended the year on 54 career victories, having started the year on 40. He leapfrogged Peter Brock (48) and Glenn Seton (40) during the year.

Only ahead of him are Jamie Whincup (124), Craig Lowndes (110), Mark Skaife (90) and Scott McLaughlin and Garth Tander (both 56).

14 of the best: Every SVG race win in 2021

2) Van Gisbergen won his second drivers' championship, adding to his 2016 victory.

He became the 14th driver to win two or more ATCC/Supercars titles, and the second Kiwi after McLaughlin and Jim Richards.

1302) Just two drivers completed all 1302 racing laps in 2021; van Gisbergen and Red Bull Ampol Racing teammate Whincup.

Tickford Racing driver Jack Le Brocq completed 1300 laps, with Shell V-Power Racing Team veteran Will Davison 1299.


7) Seven different full-time drivers headed to PIRTEK Victory Lane in 2021 from six different teams.

Van Gisbergen led the way with 14, ahead of Anton De Pasquale (six), Cameron Waters and Chaz Mostert (both three), Whincup (two) and Will Brown and Andre Heimgartner (both one).

8) Eight different drivers claimed an ARMOR ALL Pole Position in 2021.

De Pasquale scored 11 and overall ARMOR ALL Pole Champion Award honours. Van Gisbergen was next on six, ahead of Waters (four), Whincup (three), Mostert and Davison (both two) and Heimgartner, Brown and Nick Percat (one each).

7) Seven different circuits staged the 30 races and 12 events in 2021; Mount Panorama, Sandown, Symmons Plains, The Bend Motorsport Park, Hidden Valley, Townsville and Sydney Motorsport Park.

Sydney Motorsport Park became the first circuit to stage four consecutive rounds in ATCC/Supercars history.

2:03.3736) Mostert recorded the fastest ever lap by a Supercar at Mount Panorama in the Top Ten Shootout in Bathurst.

Mostert took the record away from McLaughlin, who clocked a 2:03.3783s in Practice 5 in 2019.

124) Whincup retires on 124 career victories. He added two to his tally in 2021, coming in Tasmania and Sydney.

The seven-time champion finished second overall, marking his best season result since he won the 2017 championship.

18) Lee Holdsworth ended the year having ended his long wait for a Great Race victory.

Holdsworth's historic win alongside Mostert at the Repco Bathurst 1000 came at his 18th start.

The 13-event 2022 Repco Supercars Championship will commence in Newcastle next year. Tickets for the event are on sale now.

The 13-round draft calendar was released during the Repco Bathurst 1000 weekend.

Related News