WAU to hit round starts landmark

28 Jul 2022
Champion team records 400 rounds
2 mins by James Pavey

This weekend’s OTR SuperSprint will double as a significant round for Walkinshaw Andretti United.

WAU will become just the second team, after Dick Johnson Racing, to bring up 400 round starts.

The team made its debut as the Holden Racing Team at Amaroo Park in 1990.

Win Percy was the foundation driver and team manager, and duly won Bathurst with Allan Grice.

Through 399 rounds, the team is among the most decorated in history.

In 896 starts, the team has claimed 187 race wins, six drivers’ titles, eight Bathurst wins and 96 pole positions.

HRT dominated in the late 1990s and early 2000s

The WAU name made its debut in 2018 after Zak Brown and Michael Andretti bought into the team.

The recruit drive has continued in the years since, with Chaz Mostert and Nick Percat the team’s two drivers.

Mostert ended 2021 with a stunning Bathurst win, and has won four races so far this season.

The team is still chasing its first drivers’ title since 2002, when Mark Skaife won his third championship in a row.

As HRT, the Clayton outfit won the 2009 teams’ championship.

All 399 rounds have come in Commodores. That will change in 2023, when the team campaigns Ford Mustangs.


The team also has plans to move away from its Clayton base into a new workshop.

The WAU brand has found success, notably winning Bathurst last year

WAU is one of five teams to record 250 or more round starts, with DJR leading the way on 482 rounds.

DJR will also record its 1000th race start at October’s Repco Bathurst 1000.

WAU’s 900th race will come in the first race of the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint.

This weekend will be the 308th round for Brad Jones Racing, 269th for Tickford Racing and 261st for Triple Eight.

Triple Eight joined the '250 club’ at Sydney Motorsport Park last November.

Mostert and Percat are fifth and 14th in the championship heading to Tailem Bend.

Cars will hit the track at the OTR SuperSprint on Saturday. Purchase your tickets now.

Most ATCC/Supercars rounds (active teams)*

482: Dick Johnson Racing399: Walkinshaw Andretti United307: Brad Jones Racing268: Tickford Racing260: Triple Eight Race Engineering188: Grove Racing131: Erebus Motorsport131: Team 1862: Matt Stone Racing19: Blanchard Racing Team7: PremiAir Racing

*Correct to 2022 NTI Townsville 500

Related News