McLaughlin equalled, Skaife next: SVG's record season

15 Sep 2022
Van Gisbergen on course for most dominant season ever

Shane van Gisbergen has equalled one record, is closing on another, and is streets ahead in the championship.

The centrepiece of van Gisbergen’s 2022 campaign has been relentless consistency.

In 29 starts, he has won a record-equalling 18 races, matching Scott McLaughlin’s 2019 benchmark.

Bathurst, the scene of the next round, was where McLaughlin won his record-extending 18th race three years ago.

Van Gisbergen has won nine of the last 11 races dating back to July's NTI Townsville 500.

He has also scored an additional six podiums, edging him closer to Mark Skaife’s record.

Skaife’s dominant 2000 season featured 25 top three finishes.

Two years later, Skaife cantered to a third straight championship by 658 points.

That also opens the door for van Gisbergen to potentially win his third title by the biggest ever points margin.

Van Gisbergen is 525 points ahead of Cam Waters heading to Mount Panorama.

There is a maximum of 900 points available this season; after Bathurst, that will be 600 points, handing van Gisbergen his first 'match point'.

If van Gisbergen outscores Waters by 75 points in Bathurst, he will clinch the 2022 title.

SVG and Waters' incredible Pukekohe duel

Given the Repco Bathurst 1000 is a single-race, 300-point event, it's likely the title could be sewn up.

If van Gisbergen wins, Waters must finish fourth or better to keep his faint title hopes alive.

The New Zealander has made no secret about scoring as many points as possible in a bid to go all-out in Bathurst.

That has been exemplified by his ruthless attempt to score fastest lap bonus points, even if winning the race is out of the question.

There were 25 sprint races this season; van Gisbergen took home fastest lap points 14 times, helping himself to 70 extra points.

The recent round at Pukekohe was perhaps his most impressive considering the weight of home pressure.


The #97 is running out of room for win stickers

Supercars raced in New Zealand for the first time since 2019, with Pukekohe hosting its final round.

After a trying Saturday, van Gisbergen bounced back in incredible fashion to sweep Sunday.

His finale victory over Waters, which came after an epic battle, is arguably one of the best wins of his career.

The win also garnered the attention of McLaughlin himself, who labelled it "bloody awesome".

Van Gisbergen's engineer Andrew Edwards refused to play into the record-breaking season.

However, he reiterated just how high a level van Gisbergen is operating, a level amplified by his results.

Van Gisbergen has won 61 of 202 races (30.2 per cent) since his joined Triple Eight in 2016.

Best of Race Radio: Pukekohe 2022

“It’s hard to put into words Shane’s performance in the last race," Edwards said.

“There have been a few times this year when he’s pulled something from nothing.

“When he’s on, he’s an animal. Sometimes you can only stand back and watch in awe.

“To see it unfold in the garage and work with him first-hand is an honour.”

The season will resume at Mount Panorama on October 6-9.

Tickets for the Repco Bathurst 1000 are available on Supercars.com and Ticketek.

Most wins in a season

Most top three finishes in a season

Biggest title-winning margin

658 points: Mark Skaife over Greg Murphy in 2002603 points: Mark Skaife over Russell Ingall in 2001583 points: Jamie Whincup over Shane van Gisbergen in 2014562 points: Scott McLaughlin over Shane van Gisbergen in 2019451 points: Scott McLaughlin over Cameron Waters in 2020339 points: Jamie Whincup over Craig Lowndes in 2012305 points: Jamie Whincup over Will Davison in 2009253 points: Jamie Whincup over Mark Winterbottom in 2008238 points: Mark Winterbottom over Craig Lowndes in 2015238 points: Marcos Ambrose over Russell Ingall in 2004

*Season ongoing

Related News