Van Gisbergen closes on McLaughlin record

31 Jul 2022
Points leader within striking distance of wins record
2 mins by James Pavey

An OTR SuperSprint clean sweep has Shane van Gisbergen within striking distance of an all-time record.

Van Gisbergen won his fourth and fifth races in a row in 2022 on Sunday.

The Kiwi's Race 23 victory also helped Holden clinch the 2022 Champion Manufacturer award.

Van Gisbergen has won 14 of 23 races this season, and has already matched his career-best tally set last year.

With 11 races remaining, van Gisbergen is now a serious threat to countryman Scott McLaughlin's season wins record.

McLaughlin won a record 18 races en route to the 2019 championship.

Four more wins in the final 11 races, and van Gisbergen will at least draw level with McLaughlin.

What's more is the scene of the next event, Sandown, hosted a van Gisbergen sweep last March.

The season will then arrive in New Zealand, where van Gisbergen could possibly break McLaughlin's record.

It was at Pukekohe in 2019 where McLaughlin took the record way from Craig Lowndes, who won 16 races in 1996.

Van Gisbergen extended his championship lead to 393 points, with Red Bull Ampol Racing now 121 points clear in the teams' title race.


"It’s obviously a great weekend when you walk away with 315 points, including three fastest lap results," he said.

McLaughlin won 18 of the first 25 races in 2019

"Today’s race in the wet was really, really fun.

"It was also great to claim the manufacturers title this weekend for Holden and GM.

"The brand still means a lot to a lot of people so it’s really cool to represent them.

"We have some big races coming up including Bathurst, Pukekohe and Adelaide where it will be Holden’s last showing.

"Hopefully we can send the Holden badge out in a good way."

The 2022 season will resume at the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint next month.

Race 23 Recap: OTR The Bend SuperSprint

Most wins in a season

*Season ongoing

Related News