Will Brown cleared over late Sandown qualifying incident
Brown investigated over allegedly impeding former teammate Brodie Kostecki
Kostecki missed Shootout, will start 11th; Brown retains 17th
Will Brown has avoided another hit at the Penrite Oil Sandown 500 after being cleared over an incident at the end of Sunday qualifying.
The reigning champion was already set for another crucial fightback after qualifying 17th for Race 31, but avoided penalty after a post-session investigation.
Brown was investigated over allegedly impeding Shell V-Power Racing Team star and former teammate Brodie Kostecki in the final minutes of Boost Mobile Qualifying.
Brown was under pressure late in Q2, coming into the lane with just over three minutes to go. At that time, several drivers bumped their way up the order, some doing it on their final flying laps.
The #1 Red Bull Ampol Chevrolet returned to the track for a final attack at the times, but on cold tyres, was caught by former teammate Brodie Kostecki after Turn 1.
At the time, Kostecki was ninth on the time sheets, but after a slow lap, was bumped out of the top 10 as Cameron Hill and Thomas Randle improved.
The #38 Shell V-Power Racing Ford missed out on a Shootout berth by a tiny 0.0003s to Brad Jones Racing's Bryce Fullwood.
Post-session, Brown was called to the stewards, but was cleared.
Speaking after the session, Brown said he was caught out by a yellow flag, saying he "went on the greens too late." As another shower arrived, he "missed the window."
The stewards decision reads:
Competitor Triple Eight Race Engineering (Australia) P\L
Car and Driver Car 1 - Will Brown
Session Qualifying Part 2 Race 31
Date: Sunday, 16 November 2025
Time: 13:10 hrs
Fact In Part 2 of Qualifying for Race 31, Car 1 ran wide at Turn 1 and then regained the racing line in front of Car 38 before Turn 2
Rule Sch.B2 Article 3.8 Manoeuvres liable to hinder / impede, are not permitted
Decision No further action
Reason The Stewards reviewed broadcast vision in conjunction with the DSA, summoned and heard from the Driver and Team Representative of Car 1. Having considered the matter the Stewards determined that Car 1 regained the racing line safely and significantly in front of Car 38. Any disadvantage to Car 38 was suffered through Turns 2 and 3 when both Drivers were attempting to set a qualifying time. No fault can be attributed to Car 1.
Brown enters this afternoon third in points, 56 points clear of the cut-line with 150 on offer today.
Race 31 of the 2025 Repco Supercars Championship will begin at 3:20pm AEDT.