Cam Waters' Finals campaign ended after a collision with Matt Payne
Waters was penalised over an earlier incident with reigning champ Will Brown
Tickford driver penalised over "unfairly gaining an advantage over contact"
Cam Waters was penalised in Sunday's dramatic Penrite Oil Sandown 500 finale over "unfairly gaining an advantage as a result of contact" with Will Brown, according to Motorsport Australia stewards.
Waters' Finals campaign ended in Race 31 after a controversial collision with Ford rival Matt Payne, with both cars sustaining damage with 31 laps to go.
Earlier, Waters was penalised to the tune of five seconds after appearing to make contact with Brown, who after sliding off the road, shortcut Turn 3.
Waters passed Brown as the latter rejoined, and the Tickford Racing was swiftly penalised.
According to the stewards report, Waters locked up into Turn 2, had opposite lock, and made contact with the rear of Brown's Red Bull Ampol Chevrolet.
The report reads:
Competitor Tickford Racing Pty Ltd
Car and Driver Car 6 - Cam Waters
Session Race 31
Date: Sunday, 16 November 2025
Time: 16:36 hrs
Fact Car 6 contact to Car 1 at Turn 2 Lap 39
Rule Sch.B2 Article 3.9 Unfairly gain an advantage as a result of contact to another Car
Decision 5 second time penalty
Reason The Stewards reviewed broadcast vision in conjunction with the DSA.
The vision showed Car 6 has a slight lock-up and with some opposite lock then makes contact with the rear right of Car 1 resulting in Car 1 leaving the track and loss of position.
The Stewards consider this driving conduct amounts to a breach of the Rules and impose a penalty consistent with previous breaches of a similar nature.
The Competitor is reminded that Decisions and Penalties that may be subject to Appeal are set out in B7.7.2 and the Rights to and process for an Appeal are set out in B5.
Over team radio, Waters was adamant he didn't make contact with Brown. Post-race, however, he accepted the decision, saying: "I was pretty dirty on that.
"I thought I was beside him and saw his right front locked before I even had any contact, so I thought he was going off on his own before I even got there.
"I was pretty upset about that one, but it is what it is. I'm not the officials and I have to respect what they say. It doesn't always go your way."
Brown clinched his Grand Final spot with another come-from-behind podium. When asked if he felt contact from Waters, the Triple Eight star said: "I'm not too sure, to be honest.
"It was just that point that if I turned in, I was going to get sent. So I just went through the grass.
"But I understand Cam's racing to get through to the top four as well."
Broc Feeney, Chaz Mostert, Brown and Kai Allen will fight for the title at the bp Adelaide Grand Final on November 27-30. Tickets for the season finale are on sale now.